We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice campground” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Gettysburg Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gettysburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gettysburg Campground
2030 Fairfield Rd., Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
Hotel amenities
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice campground”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

Very pretty campground most of the sites with sewer are on gravel not just the pad the whole site hard on your carpet and your feet campground is large with a lot of sites very pretty and very well maintained. The main issue was the bathrooms while they were kept very clean they are very dated and there are not a lot of stalls and a lot of them do not have doors just a curtain which allows little privacy. The showers that do have doors do not have locks that work. They have a lot of sites without sewers and get a lot of units that are not self contained we were there in the middle of the week and there was lineups for the showers. The staff is very friendly the main reason I would not return was the dated bathrooms.
And watch out for the ticks our dogs were covered in them

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    57
    29
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
50
28
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, PA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

This is a great place to camp! Our creekside camp site was great. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We camped with our 2 dogs and the campground is very dog friendly. There is a dog walk and cleanup stations everywhere. We will be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We always. enjoy our stay. We have stayed in one of the cabins and have camped in our tent. The shower rooms are always clean and fresh. Staff is friendly and there is always great stuff planed for the whole family.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, Maryland
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

The campground sites are very small and very close to the other campers. We were so close, I could almost hear them whispering. The site we were staying at was not level and we were washed out by the weather (not their fault) so we rented a cabin. It had room for 4 to sleep but nothing else. The campsite had a great view by a stream. The cabin faced RVs so the view sucked but it kept us dry. The staff was nice and really help me out when we were forced out by the storm.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MdMedic
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Family spent a week here in November. It was mostly off-season, so no crouds to speak of. Made a nice jumping off point for the battlefields. We had no problems with the staff (contrary to other reviews). All were more then attentive and courteous. My only complaint would be the lower showers could have used more attention. Other than that, clean grounds, nice ammenities.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We had a great stay at this campground. The internet connection at the site was very good, bathroom was kept clean and staff was friendly.

Most of the sites seemed a little on the small side but were level and taken good care of. Ours was a decent size - but had to park vehicle sideways so it was not hanging out of our site. Lots of trees on most sites which can make it hard for parking camper and vehicles.

They advertise a rv garage on campground property. Unless it is an emergency I do not recommend them. We broke our lock on camper door. There was a $58.00 charge just to come walk the 50 feet to our site. We decided to just have it fixed at our garage for much lower fees!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We enjoy the campground type of stay, and this is really a nice campground. I would not hesitate to recommend it for any type of camping. We stayed in a cabin, since we no longer have a camper, and we do enjoy the campground atmosphere over motels. The spacious covered porch was nice, and the bathroom was roomy, with a large shelf to store our stuff. Kitchenette area had plenty of counter space and was well supplied with dishes, etc. Previous reviewers commented on how bad the beds are, and to be fair, I should have taken heed! We are not picky people, and have slept in campers, rvs, and air mattresses in tents, but these beds were "unsleepable"! A 4 inch firm foam mattress covered in vinyl on top of plywood. The second night we took the mattresses off the bunk beds and put it them side by side under the queen mattress on the main bed so at least we had 8 inches of foam mattress and it was somewhat better. Having said that, otherwise we enjoyed the campground, and its proximity to the Gettysburg battlefield and downtown. If we had a camper or RV I would definitely return here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gettysburg Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gettysburg Campground

Address: 2030 Fairfield Rd., Gettysburg, PA 17325
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty lodging in Gettysburg
Also Known As:
Gettysburg Campground Hotel Gettysburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gettysburg Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Gettysburg Campground to your Saves list