We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a great time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gettysburg Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gettysburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gettysburg Campground
Save
You added Gettysburg Campground to your Saves list
2030 Fairfield Rd., Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
Hotel amenities
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
“Had a great time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

The staff is very friendly and park was safe to be in...only thing i would like to see is hand towels in the bathrooms...some of the camping sites are too close together

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    38
    9
    3
    4
See reviews for
57
30
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011 via mobile

We visited during one of their busiest weeks. Although primarily an rv park, they have a pretty, well designed separate area for tent campers. Wireless works well in most parts of the park, but not in tent area. Everything was clean and the staff was really helpful. Things quieted down at night to sleep. The kids loved the pool and the campstore was handy. Our only two small complaints was that the reservation system put us in a small site while better sites stayed open for several nights ofnour stay. Why not make a more flexible system so longer stays can use the better sites? Also, the mini golf was too expensive. Otherwise, a nice place that made a good area for tent campers and families.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

We enjoyed our stay here. Staff was friendly and security patrolled at night. We went for Line Dancing theme weekend which we only watched. Activities were enjoyable. The fresh produce and baked goods for sale on Saturday were delicious and nice to have available. Bingo was run by Young Marines. These mature, young kids ran the Bingo better than most adults could! Bingo and dance was held in a comfortable, large recreation hall. The campground was graveled. The best sites seem to be by the creek. We had #220 which was very close to others behind us and next to us. It was shady. Bathrooms and showers were clean, but it seemed that they needed more of them. Campstore was smaller with a good selection of t-shirts and the like, but little groceries. Pool was nice and miniature golf was decent. They had a large open area for kids to play as well as a playground equipment. We will return, but will pick a better spot for us.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bel Air, Maryland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

We rented two tent sites for the weekend. We were a little nervous because it was bike weekend that it might be noisy and difficult for the kids to sleep. The campsite was very quiet, all the facilities were extremely clean. When our one site had puddles from the rain the staff was very responsive and quickly came and laid fresh mulch to help absorb the water to dry the site. Then we could put our tents up on dry ground. The pool and putt-putt golf were fun for the kids.We would definetly book here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights in a full hook up site for bike weekend. We will be back! Even though it was bike week the campground was not rowdy. Security was good. The one drawback that I saw was 2 sites hook up on one pole..but we were closer to the pole than the neighbor was :-)

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming, Georgia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

Do not stay here if you need a rail in the restroom, they have none. The owner informed me the ADA does not apply to them since they have never updated their restrooms...enough said.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Point Pleasant, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

I am a Civil War Reenactor, and was participating in the 2011 Gettysburg battle reenactment. I of course slept on location, camped out with the other reenactors. My parents came with friends to watch the events, but they stayed at Gettysburg Campground from July 1 - July 5. After the event, which ended on July 3, I joined my parents and their friends at the campground. The place was completely packed!!! I have never seen a campground so full. Even with so many people, there was still room to park, and the campers were not too crowded against each other. The staff was helpful and nice, and the security guards did a good job checking on the guests without being too overwhelming. The campground was about 5 minutes drive from the historic battlefields and downtown, yet still seemed far enough away to be out of thw way of traffic. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Book early!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gettysburg Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gettysburg Campground

Address: 2030 Fairfield Rd., Gettysburg, PA 17325
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Gettysburg
Number of rooms: 240
Also Known As:
Gettysburg Campground Hotel Gettysburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gettysburg Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.