We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historical, casual good food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Farnsworth House Tavern

Farnsworth House Tavern
401 Baltimore Street, Gettysburg, PA 17325
717-334-8838
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 103 Restaurants in Gettysburg
Cuisines: American, Pub
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Pledger, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Historical, casual good food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Sweeny Tavern offered great period food in a casual inviting atmosphere. Rhe movie memorabilia from God's and Generals was extensive and interesting. Easy parking and friendly staff. It was a nice end to a history filled day.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    260
    206
    137
    81
    74
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, Illinois
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Something just wasn't right”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Our food was good, but the wait for it was a bit long. The waiter came several times to appologize and to say it would be "just a few more minutes." Others who were seated after us got their food before us. including a large party of 10. A family at a table next to us who were already seated before we came ended up walking out. I know they ordered before us. There didn't seem to be any rhyme or reason for how the meals were coming out. The wait staff seemed a bit stressed. It was not a relaxing meal.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Make Reservations to eat Upstairs.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Overall the food was good, It was busy so service was a bit slow. On the pricey side, about $30 + per person. They are dressed in "period" clothing so it was worth paying for the atmosphere.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin
Level Contributor
93 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good place to stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

Had lunch with my husband. We had been looking for this place because of all the "Gettysburg" movie memorabilia. Not busy, kinda surprised us. My husband ordered fish and chips which was good. I ordered something that was a bread bowl with ham, hard boiled eggs and cheese sauce, can't remember the name but it was great. I am definitely going to try it with my family. Candy our server was very nice and informative. Oh, and finished the meal with rum creme pie, yummy. Very light. The movie " Gettysburg" is on a continuous loop.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandy, utah
Level Contributor
167 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Perfect evening dinner outdoors”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The inside restaurant was full, but we enjoyed the trees and water features outside even more. Costumed servers and historical menu items such as pickled watermelon rind and spoon bread added to the ambience.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Farnsworth House Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Farnsworth House Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Farnsworth House Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.