We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this Campground; Very Tranquil Setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gettysburg / Battlefield KOA

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gettysburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gettysburg / Battlefield KOA
20 Knox Road, Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
Hotel amenities
North Ridgeville, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Love this Campground; Very Tranquil Setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed in a pull-through deluxe site and it was worth every penny we paid. Sites are quite large and give you a feeling of seclusion since each site is separated by trees and rocks. Our site had a fire pit with grate for grilling, a swing and was decorated with floral planters. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Slight drive to downtown Gettysburg but not a bad drive. Thursday evenings they bring in a ghost story teller and she is amazing. She really had you engrossed in the story. We would definitely stay here again if we come back to the area and would recommend this campground.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    63
    23
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
57
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

This was the second time we stayed at this KOA, and just like last year, we were very happy with our stay. The staff are fantastic, and facilities are great. Also the bathrooms and showers are clean and allow for privacy. The camp store has big binders with brochures and menus of local attractions and restraunts, as well as offering bus tours. We always go as a huge family and they have no problem with us gathering at one site for campfires and meals. There is a small, but very nice dog park, and a dog walk that is not lit at night, so if traveling with a pet you will need a flashlight. Also the large sharp gravel on the road of the camp is rough on one's own feet as well as your pet's.
You can also order food to have it delivered to your cabin or site, which is a blessing after a long day of site seeing!
All in all this is a great camp for families, single folks, and pet lovers.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Haven't been camping in a while and we were looking to try a cabin for the first time. Our great experience started when we booked the reservations over the phone. The girl on the phone was very friendly and helpful (we had friends that wanted to set up a tent and she found a tent site right next to our cabin site). When we arrived, check-in was fast and friendly. Our cabin was absolutely spotless. We had a nice nights sleep and a great pancake breakfast the next day down at the pavilion. The bathrooms could be a tad bit cleaner but they were great for a campground. The grounds were busy, yet quiet and the activities were great for the kids. The nature trail was nice too, although a little challenging if you want to do the complete loop. Overall, this was a fantastic camp site and we had a really nice, relaxing weekend. If you have more time, you can go visit the Gettysburg battlefield. That's a great way to spend the day.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lititz, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Not far from home - but feels like you are. Every visit here has been perfect. We always stay in one of their cabins which have everything you could need. Their beds are soooo comfortable. Our cabin included a bathroom & partial kitchen. We always cook over the firepit provided at each site. Also has pool, dog walk & fenced dog park, mini golf etc. Highly recommended!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My aunt, mom, sister, and I stayed in Kamping Lodge 1 at KOA Gettysburg. The website said that this cabin can sleep 6, but I would not recommend more than 4 adults stay here. The bunk beds are enclosed (the bottom bunk is only open on one side. I slept in the bottom bunk the first night and was very overheated since there was no air flow. My sister had a similar experience with the top bunk on our last night there. The cabin has air conditioner so if you don't mind freezing out everyone else in the cabin, crank it up. The water smelled awful, making it unusable for showers, brushing your teeth, cleaning dishes, etc. The staff was a little scattered when we arrived (girl in the office didn't give me the key when I checked in, people on golf carts didn't give my mom her parking pass when she got there). Other than that, we had a pleasant experience at this campground.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed on full, back in site. Nice site, very shaded. Office staff was very friendly and there is plenty to do at the campground. Located reasonably close to all battlefield and downtown Gettysburg activities. Campground was clean and well taken care of. Will certainly stay again!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, Virginia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We went to Gettysburg and was not sure what to expect. So we reserved a couple of nights at the KOA. Was a really nice campground, lots of shade, however it is a drive from Gettysburg. I can't say anything bad about here and they even offered to cook you dinner if you put in your order early enough and they would even deliver it to you (for a fee). I would book here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gettysburg / Battlefield KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gettysburg / Battlefield KOA

Address: 20 Knox Road, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty lodging in Gettysburg
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A nightly movie provides an overview of the town and battle. Bus tours depart from this KOA daily (in season) for the Gettysburg Battlefield or Washington, D.C. Explore on your own with a tape or CD, visiting such hallowed sites as Little Round Top, Devil's Den and Pickett's Charge. After a day of touring, relax at this quiet, naturally wooded campground. Enjoy the heated pool, nature trail, fun-bike rentals, shuffleboard, horseshoes, life-size games and mini golf. Weekend entertainment includes living history encampments, Civil War songs and stories, Civil War fashion show, ghost walks and pancake breakfasts. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gettysburg / Battlefield Koa Hotel Gettysburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gettysburg / Battlefield KOA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Gettysburg / Battlefield KOA to your Saves list