We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful, quiet, and friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Gettysburg

Save Saved
You added Wyndham Gettysburg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wyndham Gettysburg
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   95 Presidential Circle, Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #6 of 29 hotels in Gettysburg
Salt Lake City
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Peaceful, quiet, and friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

We stayed for three nights in August, 2010. The hotel is about a ten minute drive from the national park. It's in a brand new development which feels a little bit isolated from town, but there is a huge movie theater across the parking lot, and three convenient restaurants. We were so tired from a long drive on our first night, that we opted to get take out pizza from Garibaldi's restaurant which is in a separate but adjacent building. Honestly, it was the best pizza I've had in years. Another night, our family chose the "dinner and a movie" option which cost $27/person but included an excellent dinner in the 1863 Gettysburg restaurant in the hotel and tickets to a first run movie at the movie theater. The staff was super friendly and helpful. We had air conditioner trouble the first night. But the hotel engineer arrived promptly to check on it after we called the desk (and it was 11:00 p.m!). When he couldn't fix it immediately, he personally went down and got us keys for a different room and offered to help us move our suitcases to the new room down the hall. The second room was perfectly fine for both remaining nights. I would definitely recommend this as a good hotel for a family. It's a little removed from the town itself which might not be as much fun for a young couple or people who like to stroll around the town for shopping or dining. But for a family with children, it offers family friendly activities and restaurants as well as good rates, good rooms, and friendly service.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,298 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    700
    415
    130
    42
    11
See reviews for
488
340
42
235
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

Stayed here for one night while visiting Gettysburg.

Hotel is fairly new and nicely decorated. Rooms were quite large and very comfortable. Only suggestion to hotel is to invest in new showerheads. Requested extra pillows and they were delivered promptly by a very nice gentleman.

Very quiet area and relaxing atmosphere after a long day of walking.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

We loved almost everything about this hotel. It was fairly new, clean and the staff was very friendly. I don't know if it was that our neighbors were loud, but the walls seemed very thin. They had a dog in their room that barked all night. It sounded like the dog was in our room. It also sounded like their children were in our room. The restaurant in the hotel was wonderful. The location is ok...it's definitely not in the main part of town but the drive isn't too long. We would stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

The hotel is really new and it was comfortable. The only negative I have to say is when I stay in a hotel I LOVE to blast the air conditioner. In this hotel it seems as though the AC was controlled by the hotel and not individual rooms. It was a pleasant temperature, but not freezing cold like I like it. :) - the beds were comfy, the rooms clean. There's a movie theater in the same parking lot as well as a couple of restaurants. Easy to get to the battlefields from this hotel.

Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2010

My husband and my 2 sons and I stayed here for a quick overnighter. Check-in was pretty flawless (although I was surprised that the front desk had to take a $50 deposit for incidentals--never said anything about that at the time I made reservations directly through Wyndham's site. No biggie, but it's definitely worth a mention.), there wasn't any line and the front desk personnel was friendly.

Our room was on the 2nd floor. Very clean and neat, great temperature control (no noisy air conditioner), and REALLY comfy bed and pillows! The bathroom was super clean, the shower's water pressure was great. Everything in the room was good.

The only things I would change is there being NO surcharge for a microwave in your room. We inquired about it and we were told that it was $10/day! Yikes. Just to warm up some food. Also, there was no way of keeping our water and Gatorade cold because there is no fridge in the room... I hope they change these small details. Hotels that are comparable all have fridges and microwaves STANDARD. They should really think about this--especially for families with children that are traveling.

Overall, great hotel! I would definitely return without hesitation. :-)

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

First of all this hotel is just gorgeous! The lobby is fantastic, the lounge cozy, and the rooms are perfect! I am a freak about the room being clean and it is perfect! The bed was clean, pillows perfect, and the bathroom was clean. It was quiet and SO convenient to get to Gettysburg, and also to Hershey or the Outlet Malls. We had a great time!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, SC
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2010

I picked this hotel on the basis of its location and price. It's an attractive hotel, large lobby, decorated throughout with art from the Civil War era. Comfortable rooms. My daughter thought the color scheme didn't hang well together, but I didn't find it that grating.

Just be aware there's no free breakfast here, and even a cup of coffee costs nearly $3. I should have made mine in the room.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Gettysburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Gettysburg

Address: 95 Presidential Circle, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Gettysburg
#3 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
#4 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Gettysburg 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Wyndham, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Wyndham Gettysburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Gettysburg Hotel Gettysburg
Gettysburg Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Gettysburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.