We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Pet Friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Gettysburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham Gettysburg to your Saves list
Wyndham Gettysburg
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   95 Presidential Circle, Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Gettysburg
Upstate, NY
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Very Pet Friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2010

Stayed here June 12-15, 2010 while in town to tour the Battlefields. This hotel is wonderful! Very clean, staff friendly, and located in a nice, non-congested area of Gettysburg. We stayed with our dog Charlie and you simply cannot get anymore dog friendly. We saw numerous others traveling with their canine family members and not once did we pass a staff member who didn't take the time to pet our little friend and remind us that he was the "VIP" guest of the hotel. (AKA- Very Important Puppy)Downtown Gettysburg is just a short drive....well....a short as you can get in semi-peak season traffic. ;-) The rooms were spacious and the Queen sized beds were as fluffy as you could get. Ample pillows on each bed. Flat screen/LCD tv. The bathrooms were of decent size but we only had a walk-in shower. (Fine for us but others may want to know this) No fridge/microwave. Room was very clean. Very popular for wedding receptions/meetings so keep this in mind should you stay on a weekend.....Saturday was quite crowded with wedding guests in the lobby area making their way to and from and there was also a large group of teenage kids staying for a Lacrosse game. They were quite rowdy at times (which makes you question who really should be paying the extra $20 a night we had paid for our dog who never uttered a peep the entire time there....ha ha ha) and completely overtook the pool area but by Sunday, they were gone and the peace was restored. ;-) We did hear them running up and down the halls.....just kids being kids....nothing destructive or anything.....Saturday night on the floor above us but one call to the front desk and within minutes we never heard another peep. Pool area (indoor) was easily accessed and well maintained. Did not go in the Fitness Center but I assume it was just as well maintained as the rest of the property. Did not eat at the restaurant on site but each evening there was complimentary coffee or lemonade right inside the lobby. If you do come here with your pet, you really cannot go wrong staying here. If you are looking for a more quaint, battlefield hotel, this is not for you. If you do travel with pets, I will say that "The Pub" and "O'Rourke's" restaurants with the outdoor seating were more than happy to allow our well behaved Charlie to sit with us and enjoy the beautiful nights we were lucky to have when we were in town. I would certainly stay here again should we mosey this way with our dog again as it truly made for a wonderful vacation. :-)

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,704 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    913
    552
    169
    55
    15
See reviews for
632
449
56
308
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
vermilion
Level Contributor
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2010

My wife and I stayed here for three nights while visiting the battlefield. We stayed primarily because we are Wyndham rewards members. You never would have known it by the way we were treated. I must say the gentleman checking us in was professional and courteous. The hotel and rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable. If that is all you expect for the price then you would be satisfied. After we were given our room we discovered it was small and dark with a view of the roof. Keep ind mind as rewards members we should be upgraded to the best available room automatically. After going back down to request a better room we were given the same room with a better view. We had to carry everything ourselves up three floors while staff stood around talking. There is no in room fridge or microwave. No complimentary breakfast of any kind. These are givens at much cheaper chain hotels. I guess what bothered me the most was that when we checked in for a three night stay there was three quarters of a roll of toilet paper and the area provided for additional rolls was empty. The cleaning staff came in every day and never gave us even one additional roll. That roll was down to the wire by day three. It is a good thing they use that cheap toilet paper that is like sandpaper, it really lasts! I am not a person who writes to complain on review sites. I just want good value and a clean room with the basics provided. Wyndham failed on two out of three.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2010

AAA rates this hotel with 3 Diamonds and it is clearly a 4 Diamond hotel!! I stayed at a similar rated hotel in Secaucus NJ and they aren't even onthe same planet!! This hotel is impressive from entrance to exit. Fabulous accomodations with an excellent mattress, LARGE pool and hot tub, GREAT restaurant, and the MOST accommodating staff I have have encountered! And the rates! They gave me a rate which was incredible. What a pleasure to stay there.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2010

We stayed for the weekend for a wine festival and brought our bulldog. They were extremely accommodating for our dog. Every staff member in sight went out of their way to say hello to us and our dog. Very clean and well kept hotel. Nice restaurants within walking distance too.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connecticut
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2010

My family of four just returned from a three day stay at the Wyndham. We were truly impressed by the hotel and the staff. The lobby, pool, and room were well appointed with just the right touches -clean, comfortable beds, glass front shower stall. The front desk staff was friendly and efficient. They not only provided us with reservations for dinner at the Dobbins House,and discount tickets to the nearby movie theater; but they also brought us two cups of coffee at check in when we remarked that we were tired after our long drive. We were impressed by the cleanliness of the hotel and liked its location. It was a great value for the money. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, CT
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2010

My husband, daughter and I recently stayed at this hotel after visiting Gettysburg College. The front staff were extremely friendly and courteous. I was exhausted and not feeling well. I appreciated the fast and easy check in and I cannot put into words how happy I was to get into a clean, spacious room. The bed was SO comfortable, the linens were pristine - I was amazed!
We will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2010

PROS: New building which coincides with the cleanliness - fairly large.
Buffet Breakfast was good, even though you may wait a really long time and be ignored as you're waiting to be seated.

CONS: Service, service, service. I've stayed at many hotels, and decided to pay a little extra for this one in Gettysburg to get something a little above the average. There aren't a lot of nice hotels in Gettysburg so this was the nicest one that I found from my little research. The first room we received looked great from the outside. But when we tried to take a shower(this was in FEBRUARY), the water was cold. OK, no big deal, we'll just ask for another room because there is no hot running water. We call them, and they tell us that because our rooms were at the end of the building, hot running water doesn't reach to us...sorry. I mean c'mon, do you really think we're that stupid? How can you run a hotel and give us that lame reason...and if that were to be true then perhaps they should just show us to another room! It was like pulling teeth to get another room for something so basic. The staff seemed young, unprofessional and completely clueless. I asked for their manager, and they took forever to get back to us. I just thought it was ridiculous we had to fight to get another room for something as trivial as this...

BOTTOM LINE: This was the first hotel I've ever filed a complaint over. Wyndham didn't respond to me the first time, and when I wrote again a month later to follow up, they finally responded. Their saving grace was a certificate for a free stay at one of their chains. I thought that was a nice gesture, but doesn't change the fact that I will ever stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
2.7 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
2.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
#6 of 29 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 1,195 reviews
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Gettysburg
Courtyard Gettysburg
#17 of 29 in Gettysburg
4.0 of 5 stars 428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
#5 of 29 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 443 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg
Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg
#8 of 29 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 790 reviews
2.2 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#12 of 29 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Gettysburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Gettysburg

Address: 95 Presidential Circle, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Gettysburg
#6 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
#7 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Gettysburg 3.5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by historic landmarks, Civil War-era charm, and stunning natural landscape, Gettysburg is a South Central Pennsylvania destination unlike any other. Situated just outside downtown Gettysburg, on the 100-acre Gateway Gettysburg campus, discover modern amenities, world-class dining, and a spectacular onsite theater just minutes from Gettysburg's most popular attractions. Guests of this centrally-located Gettysburg hotel are welcomed to this Federal-styled property by a dedicated and friendly hotel staff. After getting settled, take a refreshing dip in the indoor swimming pool, or enjoy a workout at the state-of-the-art fitness center. Two onsite restaurants dish up exceptional fare in a casual setting. Other exceptional guest services include shuttle services to local attractions and businesses, daily newspapers and complimentary WiFi. The Wyndham Gettysburg offers a modern escape for business and leisure travelers with 248 stylish guest rooms and convenient services that make life that much easier. Stylish furnishings and incredible comfort await at the well-appointed guest rooms and suites at the Wyndham Gettysburg. Whether traveling for business or leisure, guests will appreciate unwinding in the plush bedding surrounded by scarlet walls and presidential blue carpeting. Enjoy flat screen TVs, complimentary WiFi, coffee and tea maker, and upscale bath amenities. The gorgeous Deluxe Suites offer a distinguished ambiance, and separate living and dining room space. For convenience, impeccable room service is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Wyndham, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Odigeo, Otel, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Wyndham Gettysburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Gettysburg Hotel Gettysburg
Gettysburg Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Gettysburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.