We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Whew!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Gettysburg

Save Saved
You added Wyndham Gettysburg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wyndham Gettysburg
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   95 Presidential Circle, Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #7 of 29 hotels in Gettysburg
Jacksonville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Whew!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Well, after a long drive to Gettysburg I thought a nice relaxing stay in this place would fit the bill. Service was so bad I stayed one night and hit the road a couple of days early.

You have to pay for WiFi and if you can get it to work then GOOD LUCK! And if you ask for assistance all they do is reset the router (which does no good) and throw up their hands. Nice service...NOT!

It's kind of off the beaten path, too; can't just go downstairs and walk across the street to Starbucks or anything. Kind of a convoluted driveway; you see it from the main road and highway but seems to take an inordinate amount of time to get in and out of the place.

Room Tip: Next time I'll do my homework a little better and pick a nicer hotel closer to amenities in town...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,243 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    665
    403
    123
    42
    10
See reviews for
461
329
39
227
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I spent 5 days at the Wyndham in the last week attending a national convention. The hotel is relatively new and situated just outside Gettysburg on the opposite side of town to the famous battlefield. Its just off the Interstate on the Gateway site which contains a Marriott, cinema and an independent restaurant. The site looks a bit like an out of town shopping complex car park but don,'t let that put you off. The hotel is high class from the Civil
War cannon in the marbled reception area to the excellently appointed rooms.
The staff were friendly and welcoming. The restaurant serves some good Americans food and breakfast dishes are varied and good value.
Top Tip: Use The Freedom Ride buses to get into Gettysburg and the Battlefield Visitor Centre. Its free to ride and runs every hour from outside the hotel. The location close to the Interstate allows easy access to the Gettysburg area and everything that holds. A good place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon B, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Gettysburg, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our Wyndham Gettysburg property. I am glad to hear that your stay with us was enjoyable. I hope you enjoyed your convention as well. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

The Hotel was fine but I was traveling with some very handicapped people and was told it was in town whe I booked. It was a great hardship and feel I was mislead.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon B, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Gettysburg, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I understand your concerns and I am sorry to hear that you were misled regarding our location. Please know that we take your feedback to heart and will be sure to follow-up with your concern. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malvern, Pa
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

This is the nicest hotel in Gettysburg. We stayed here September 19th through September 22nd in room 611.

The concierge, Colleen is so knowledgeable about the area and will not steer you wrong.

The hotel staff - Cassandra is extremely helpful and also had some great tips.

As a matter of fact when we called room service for plates and silverware Theresa called and apologized because room service was all backed up. The thing is, we had already received our tray with plates and silverware, very impressive.

We also called for toiletries and they were delivered very quickly.

We did not meet one rude staff member on the premises.

This hotel knows customer service and I have traveled both domestically and internationally for business and pleasure.

To the person on trip advisor who was offended by the cannon, this is Gettysburg and what happened here is tragic. However, a war took place here and Gettysburg is telling the story and preserving history, so why on earth you would be offended..I just don't think Gettysburg is the place for you.

We requested a room in the top floor in the corner and away from the elevators, ice and highway. Stephanie granted our request, thank you for being so customer service oriented. Hope they recognize you as a staff member.

The only not so great thing is the noise, at times we heard the garbage trucks, people locking their cars and people talking loudly in the hallway. I was unable to determine if that was due to building structure or typical hotel noise.

To Thursday night football fans, the NFL network is not available in your room. The game is shown is the bar. However the bar is so noisy that you can not hear the game.

The hotel phones for dialing out, did not seem to work for us. Not a big problem as we just used our cell phones.

Whenever we called for any type of service the phone was answered and our requests were taken care of quickly and correctly.

Thank you for a truly wonderful stay. Look forward to staying with you in the future.


  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon B, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Gettysburg, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am glad to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay with us and we provided guest services to your satisfaction. I will share your kind comments with our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

My wife and I arrived at the hotel just before two tour buses arrived. A couple of hours later when we went to the dining room, Linda, the hostess told us that it would be an hour and half wait since the dining room was full. We told her that we were too tired to go out and find a restaurant.
She took pity on us and suggested that we go into the bar and we could have some soup and rolls along with a hamburger and salad. Needless to say we sincerely appreciated her going out of the way to take care of us.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon B, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Gettysburg, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am glad to hear that Linda was accommodating to your needs and met your expectations. I will be sure to share your kind words with her. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfort
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Beautiful hotel gorgeous furnishings, great restaurant staff, best of all the beds were terrific!!!!


  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon B, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Gettysburg, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your dining experience in our 1863 Restaurant and had a great night's rest. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cincinnati
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Wyndham. Everything met our expectations. Staff was friendly and professional. The only negative was the abundance of smokers that gathered around the entrances. It is not pleasant to enter and exit through a cloud of smoke. Most hotels today specifically prohibit its patrons and employees from smoking near the entrances. This Wyndham needs to adopt this policy, post signs and enforce the policy.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon B, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Gettysburg, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. I understand your concerns with the smoke at the entrance to the hotel. Please know that we take your feedback to heart and will be sure to follow-up with your concerns. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wyndham Gettysburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Gettysburg

Address: 95 Presidential Circle, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Gettysburg
#4 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
#6 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Gettysburg 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Wyndham, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Wyndham Gettysburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Gettysburg Hotel Gettysburg
Gettysburg Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Gettysburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.