We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Fantastic Weekend at the Cricket House” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cricket House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gettysburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cricket House
Save
You added Cricket House to your Saves list
162 East Middle Street, Gettysburg, PA   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 24 Gettysburg B&B and Inns
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Fantastic Weekend at the Cricket House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

What a lovely environment and loving energy. Debi is a marvelous hostess...very caring, kind and humurous. We had a great time in the carriage house and the garden is exquisite...a wonderful place to relax and enjoy the beauty of nature.Everything there feels clean and fresh and we had a wonderful sleep after taking a luxurious whirlpool bath. We can't wait to go back there again and treat ourselves to another great experience!
Franco and Kay

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
8
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Chester, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Took my wife and son for a weekend getaway in Gettysburg and we loved our stay. Perfect spot just outside of the center of town, close to restaurants and historic sites. Beautiful house and backyard area. Highly recommend theCricket House

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah G, Owner at Cricket House, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Hello Chris!

it was a treat having you and your family here. CJ is the the most sweet, entertaining little boy ever. You guys are so blessed!

I hope you decide to make this an annual trip.

Thanks again,
-debi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

You could stay in any of the numerous hotels or motels around Gettysburg, but if you want to get a real feel for the town and it's history I couldn't think of a better place to stay than the Cricket House! It's a beautiful and charming cottage with amazing amenities and Debi, the owner and hostess, is the best. When you're not exploring Gettysburg you might fight yourself spending more time than you thought relaxing in the comfortable confines of the Cricket House. I highly recommend it for any stay in Gettysburg!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

You couldn't ask for a better location or nicer host. The Cricket House is less than 50 yards from the battlefield trail and a quick walk to the square. The owner is one of the nicest people I've met and will do anything to make your stay relaxing and enjoyable. The house is clean and nicely furnished with one of the most comfortable mattresses I've ever slept on. This will always be my first choice for lodging when visiting Gettysburg.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We have NEVER stayed in a more perfect place, ... EVER!!! Debi, the owner, was so helpful and accommodating from the moment the reservations were made until check out. Our family felt so comfortable in the Cricket House. It is absolutley charming and spotless!! We loved the location, right next to the Culp's Hill entrance road. This was the perfect spot for our daughters to run, jog, walk and ride bikes. We were able to walk to eat, sight see and shop. The house had very comfortable beds and luxurious linens. We all slept like babies! The house had plently of room for our family to read, play board games and watch a movie. The steam shower and jacuzzi tubs made us feel like royalty! The kitchen was perfect for all of our eating needs. We absolutley cannot wait to go back and enjoy the charming back yard, (in the spring /summer). We thank Debi for our perfect get away!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah G, Owner at Cricket House, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
I would also like to say that meeting you, your husband and the girls, was a true blessing. What a remarkable story you shared about your family. I look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

My family and I love the Cricket House and all the amenities it offers! It is so convenient to everything, but more importantly, offers delightful charm and comfort at a wonderful price! Deb was most accommodating in all ways to ensure our happiness during our time at the Cricket House. I would highly recommend this property for a rental!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Stayed for a girls weekend, it was better than amazing!! Debi is the best hostess ever!
Great outdoor patio for a happy hour. Walking distance to downtown restaurants and pubs. Great kitchen for a bloody mary and omelette breakfast. The sleeping accomodations were great and the steam shower much appreciated! We had such a relaxing and fun time! Will definetely stay here again, and again!
Hate to give it just 5 stars when it is a 10 star establishment!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cricket House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cricket House

Address: 162 East Middle Street, Gettysburg, PA
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cricket House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.