We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The way Gettysburg should be experienced!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cricket House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gettysburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cricket House
Save
You added Cricket House to your Saves list
162 East Middle Street, Gettysburg, PA   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 24 Gettysburg B&B and Inns
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The way Gettysburg should be experienced!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

You could stay in any of the numerous hotels or motels around Gettysburg, but if you want to get a real feel for the town and it's history I couldn't think of a better place to stay than the Cricket House! It's a beautiful and charming cottage with amazing amenities and Debi, the owner and hostess, is the best. When you're not exploring Gettysburg you might fight yourself spending more time than you thought relaxing in the comfortable confines of the Cricket House. I highly recommend it for any stay in Gettysburg!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
8
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

You couldn't ask for a better location or nicer host. The Cricket House is less than 50 yards from the battlefield trail and a quick walk to the square. The owner is one of the nicest people I've met and will do anything to make your stay relaxing and enjoyable. The house is clean and nicely furnished with one of the most comfortable mattresses I've ever slept on. This will always be my first choice for lodging when visiting Gettysburg.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We have NEVER stayed in a more perfect place, ... EVER!!! Debi, the owner, was so helpful and accommodating from the moment the reservations were made until check out. Our family felt so comfortable in the Cricket House. It is absolutley charming and spotless!! We loved the location, right next to the Culp's Hill entrance road. This was the perfect spot for our daughters to run, jog, walk and ride bikes. We were able to walk to eat, sight see and shop. The house had very comfortable beds and luxurious linens. We all slept like babies! The house had plently of room for our family to read, play board games and watch a movie. The steam shower and jacuzzi tubs made us feel like royalty! The kitchen was perfect for all of our eating needs. We absolutley cannot wait to go back and enjoy the charming back yard, (in the spring /summer). We thank Debi for our perfect get away!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah G, Owner at Cricket House, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
I would also like to say that meeting you, your husband and the girls, was a true blessing. What a remarkable story you shared about your family. I look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

My family and I love the Cricket House and all the amenities it offers! It is so convenient to everything, but more importantly, offers delightful charm and comfort at a wonderful price! Deb was most accommodating in all ways to ensure our happiness during our time at the Cricket House. I would highly recommend this property for a rental!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Stayed for a girls weekend, it was better than amazing!! Debi is the best hostess ever!
Great outdoor patio for a happy hour. Walking distance to downtown restaurants and pubs. Great kitchen for a bloody mary and omelette breakfast. The sleeping accomodations were great and the steam shower much appreciated! We had such a relaxing and fun time! Will definetely stay here again, and again!
Hate to give it just 5 stars when it is a 10 star establishment!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Virginia, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

I felt pampered, safe, relaxed and healed after an all-too-short weekend at The Cricket House. Everything lent itself to a feeling of serenity: the owner Debi's kind, welcoming demeanor, the historic yet updated feel of the property, the infrared sauna, Reflexology, Jacuzzi, Thai massage....ahhh. I love to walk, and the battlefields were literally across the street; I love to shop and eat, and the stores and restaurants in the main square in downtown Gettysburg were within easy walking distance. This B&B is my favorite because it is a separate home - the owner lives in the main house, and my friend and I could enjoy the garden and space of The Cricket House as we pleased. While it was just the two of us this time, I can see how families could easily stay here, too, because there is plenty of space. This was a lovely visit, I hope to be back to The Cricket House soon.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WOODBURY , CT. USA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

My family and I have stayed at Cricket House many times. It has the best location, amenities and charm of any Gettysburg location. Add to this the warmth and friendliness of Deb & Barney; the former always happy to help with restaurant ideas & area attractions, the latter a delightful Cavalier tolerate and sweet to children. Don't miss this treasure!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cricket House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cricket House

Address: 162 East Middle Street, Gettysburg, PA
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cricket House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.