We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Friendly's

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Friendly's
445 Steinwher Avenue, Gettysburg, PA 17325
717-337-1426
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #49 of 114 Restaurants in Gettysburg
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Atwater
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Friendly Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We travel with our two dogs, so we had to sit outside on the picnic tables. Ordering was a breeze at the take out window and while I waited I saw a wonderful group of people that worked well together and doing their best to get food out quickly and accurately. Thank you!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    56
    45
    18
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Slow and ineffective service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

There isn't much you can say about this place. The service was pretty slow and way too ineffective. The food was below average. I would have been better serve if I walk to McDonald's across the street. They appears to be short on help and the ones they had weren't that good. My waiter had a tendency to talked to a select set of tables and to no one else. I never did get my ice tea refilled and that cost him any sort of tip money. (I gave one dollar just for show.) My chicken strips were pretty dry as if they been heated instead of freshly cooked. Not a good experience, never went back there again even although, it was located right in front of my motel.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamestown
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pleasant Server”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Presumably everybody knows what a Friendly's is. You don't go there for great food.

Realizing that, when I visited, I had seen way too many french fries and opted for a green salad with my sandwich. I was much impressed with the quality of the salad, no aged lettuce and cherry tomato thing, but fresh greens and such. Much better than I expected from Friendly's.

And the server was extraordinarily nice.

Turned out to be a much more pleasant experience than I expected.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Top Contributor
230 reviews 230 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“What's With The Seating?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I have never been to a restaurant where they don't have a hostess. You get seated when a waitress is available. Then you better hope it's not crowded because they can't see to manage more than one order at a time. But the food is still good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westmont, Illinois
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Friendly service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

9/2/2013

The decor is diner, 50's or 60's. Many kids, families, old people, teens, local and tourist, The food is basic and decent. The price is good. The service was friendly, a bit slow, but adequate. We didn't have any of the ice cream that Friendly's is known for. The fish and chips I had were good, but nothing special. I could have used a drink refill, but it wasn't until near the end of the meal that I was offered one.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Friendly's also viewed

 

Been to Friendly's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Friendly's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.