We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adorable Little Place!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cannonball Malt Shop

Cannonball Malt Shop
11 York St., Gettysburg, PA 17325
717-334-9695
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 114 Restaurants in Gettysburg
Cuisines: Ice Cream
Restaurant details
Olney, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Adorable Little Place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I was coming back from Hershey Park with a couple of my friends and one of their parents. I walked in the place, which at first looked kind of run down and old from the outside, I just loved it! The place was small, but so cute, it looked like such a good place to hang out. Too bad I don't live closer!
The food was pretty good, I got a chicken salad with ranch dressing and a quesadilla. I don't know if the food was just frozen or not, but the taste was pretty good. I did enjoy the salad very much. FYI the serving there are LARGE, so it would probably be best to order one item. I clearly didn't know! It's moderately priced for the amount of food given.
Despite it being a nice little ice cream joint, I did not have any ice cream, but it did look delicious. My friends had sundaes and they seemed pleased with them.
If I lived closer, I would go there all the time and sit at that cool little bar-type seating area. It really was the best place ever, with great people and all.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    20
    8
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Des Moines, Iowa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“YOU MUST GO TO THIS SHOP!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We liked everything about this shop -- it is a family owned business, and they treat you like you are part of the family. The food is great, and the ice cream is incredible.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock AR
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Place for Ice Cream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Prepare for very large scoops of delicious Turkey Hill ice cream. The staff is very friendly and they give prompt service. The shop is located next door to the Wills House. Look for the Civil War cannonball in the front wall of the shop. Don't leave Gettysburg without stopping in the Cannonball Malt Shop. Ask about the "Dressed to Kill" dessert.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Great gem.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

Stopped in for lunch on the way home from a great weekend in Gettysburg. Great food & milkshakes. What a great way to end a wonderful trip.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best Burger and ice cream”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We were driving by and thinking an ice cream would be good. Parked the car and decided to split a hamburger. That was a bad idea we both wanted the whole burger. Quality beef hand formed patty with fresh lettuce tomato and onion on a great bun. After the selection of ice cream made it hard to choose. I had the maple walnut and dh had salted carmel a generous portion of frozen heaven.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cannonball Malt Shop also viewed

 

Been to Cannonball Malt Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cannonball Malt Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.