We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place for art house films” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Majestic Theater

The Majestic Theater
25 Carlisle Street, Gettysburg, PA 17325
717-337-8200
Website
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great place for art house films”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

The films at the Majestic are films that you might find in art house theaters in larger cities. Some are foreign films, others are just independent films. The Majestic also serves wine and beer, making it a great place for a date, or just a break from everyday chaos. It's great to find a treasure like the Majestic in Gettysburg!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    19
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
80 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Beautifully restored theater”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

I attended a concert there recently and was impressed with the old world charm and comfortable seating. The theater reminded me somewhat of theaters in England on a smaller scale. I loved the chandeliers and the curve of the stage. We listened to a musical group and the acoustics were good. It had a concession stand and clean bathrooms.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Creek, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Nice theatre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

After a hot day touring the battlefields, it was nice to spend the evening at a movie theater. Nice, clean facility, with comfortable seating. Regular theater concession stand. A nice place to see a movie.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A Nice Addition To Gettysburg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

It is a nice, remodeled theater right in town and within walking distance to the shops, restaurants and some of the B&B's. It was very convenient for guests where were staying right in town so that you didn't have to worry about parking meters. We saw the "Copperhead" movie during the 150th Reenactment weekend and felt like 'hometowners' watching an excellent movie there, then walking back to our B& B.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“a step back in time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

The name says it all--truly a 'majestic' old theatre, but with creative renovations. Was a pleasure just to see the theatre. Strongly recommend that you at least visit it.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Majestic Theater also viewed

 

Been to The Majestic Theater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Majestic Theater, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.