We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, pleasant, and convenient” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Gettysburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Gettysburg to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Gettysburg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   115 Presidential Circle, Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #18 of 29 Hotels in Gettysburg
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bristol
Level Contributor
115 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Quiet, pleasant, and convenient”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We stayed here last Saturday during a driving tour of historical sites in Virginia and Pennsylvania.

The hotel is on the outskirts of Gettysburg, away from the main mass of retail parks, so is very quiet. The downside is that there is not much choice for restaurants. I believe there is a shuttle bus into town, which would be very useful when it's busy and impossible to find parking spaces.

The room and bathroom were good, with a sofa bed by the window. There was free Wi-Fi, but it was intermittent. The bed dipped a little in the middle, unfortunately. There is a choice of simple continental or cooked breakfasts.

This would be a good choice for anyone visiting Gettysburg. I would have given it a four stars but for being charged more on my credit card (after leaving) than the amount stated on the final receipt/invoice at checkout.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen W, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Gettysburg, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. We are glad that you enjoyed our rooms and our convenient location. In regards to your bill, if you feel you were charged incorrectly, please feel free to call the hotel directly at (717)334-5600 and ask for our Front Office Manager. We would be happy to resolve any errors for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    160
    59
    17
    4
See reviews for
135
138
19
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, SC
Level Contributor
81 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

This was my first visit to Gettysburg, but I know where I will stay if I ever go back and that is this Courtyard.

I am a huge Courtyard fan, but this one is super nice. I think it is near new. It is right beside a restaurant and movie theater. The staff is also super nice.

Pros:
-water pressure
-super clean
-good internet speed
-free parking
-nice and large lobby
-free coffee in lobby (I wish Courtyard would standarize this one)

Cons:
- none

Oh, location. This property is about 5 minutes from the Gettysburg National Park and close by Outlets.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen W, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Gettysburg, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you so much for the wonderful review! We are thrilled to have exceeded all of your expectations and to provide a comfortable home away from home. Come see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Clean, clean rooms; free wifi, lovely lounge. Located about 3 miles east of Main Street, out of the traffic and noise of the city. Small indoor pool for the kiddies. Across the street from a movie theater. Need to have a car here-you are in the suburbs. Free parking and plenty of it. Buffet breakfast costs $11 per person.

Room Tip: they're all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen W, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Gettysburg, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. We take pride in our clean rooms, and appreciate the great review. Hope you'll stay again next time you're in Gettysburg!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean View, Delaware
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Front office staff are professional, helpful; quick check in. Rooms are clean and well kept.
For Business traveling this hotel is one of the better ones, when there is time, catch a movie in a state of the art movie theater next door you can walk to.

Room Tip: If you like a beautiful sunset, choose the even numbers, facing west on the 3 or 4 floor; or beautif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen W, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Gettysburg, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you so much for the great review! It is our pleasure to provide professional and friendly service to our guests. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobourg, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel after booking it on Priceline and lucky again we were to get such a gem at about 80 for the night. The room was super clean, the staff made check in a breeze. They had carts available to put your luggage on to make your arrival less stress.

I find the Courtyard as a whole are a great place to stay

Room Tip: i always stay as far away from elevators as possible for two reasons. One is that your near a fire e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen W, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Gettysburg, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you for staying with us! Glad to hear you had a pleasant stay and enjoyed our clean rooms. Come stay again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth uk
Level Contributor
72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

This hotel was the most expensive on our 3 week tour but the very worst, from the start the reception staff were very offhand, we had a broken tap in our room, we had to clean our teeth in bottled water as they did not fix it despite requesting it twice. The toilet was blocked, that did get sorted straight away but overall not a good stay. Would not stay there again.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen W, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Gettysburg, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. Your feedback is much appreciated, as it gives us an opportunity to improve. I truly apologize for the unwelcoming service you received upon check-in. This is not our standard of service, and I have spoken with the Front Office Manager to address this issue. He has also researched the service recovery issue with your lack of cold water in your room. It was unacceptable for this issue to not get resolved during your stay, and for that I apologize. I really do hope you'll consider staying with us again should you return to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mpls., MN
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

It's the 150 anniversary of the battle in Gettysburg and the hotels are doing a good business, so why not take full advantage. I stay here because it's convenient to family when I'm visiting, but next time? The room rate was high, the room OK, but for the price you'd at least expect breakfast and a newspaper. No, breakfast is good, but 11$ and you're still serving yourself, papers are supposedly stacked in the computer area, but gone unless you're an early riser.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen W, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Gettysburg, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for staying at our hotel, and we appreciate your feedback. I apologize for the lack of newspapers in the morning, we aim to have enough for all guests in the hotel. Unfortunately, it is Courtyard brand standard that breakfast is separate from the room rate, hence the $10.95 charge for breakfast. We hope you'll consider staying with us again next time you are in Gettysburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Gettysburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Gettysburg

Address: 115 Presidential Circle, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Gettysburg
#11 Business Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Gettysburg 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated in May 2015, the Courtyard by Marriott Gettysburg is located just minutes from Gettysburg's historic sites and within the campus of Gateway Gettysburg. The Courtyard by Marriott offers 152 newly renovated guest rooms and is within minutes of the Gettysburg National Military Park, Gettysburg historic attractions, golfing, skiing, outlet shopping, Gettysburg College and Mount Saint Mary's University. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Gettysburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Gettysburg Hotel Gettysburg
Courtyard Gettysburg
Gettysburg Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Gettysburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.