We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the nicest Gettysburg hotels” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Gettysburg

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Gettysburg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Gettysburg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   115 Presidential Circle, Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #17 of 29 Hotels in Gettysburg
GreenLeadersBronze level
Rhode Island
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“One of the nicest Gettysburg hotels”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Clean, clean rooms; free wifi, lovely lounge. Located about 3 miles east of Main Street, out of the traffic and noise of the city. Small indoor pool for the kiddies. Across the street from a movie theater. Need to have a car here-you are in the suburbs. Free parking and plenty of it. Buffet breakfast costs $11 per person.

Room Tip: they're all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen W, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Gettysburg, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. We take pride in our clean rooms, and appreciate the great review. Hope you'll stay again next time you're in Gettysburg!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    136
    47
    14
    2
See reviews for
118
118
15
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ocean View, Delaware
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Front office staff are professional, helpful; quick check in. Rooms are clean and well kept.
For Business traveling this hotel is one of the better ones, when there is time, catch a movie in a state of the art movie theater next door you can walk to.

Room Tip: If you like a beautiful sunset, choose the even numbers, facing west on the 3 or 4 floor; or beautif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen W, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Gettysburg, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you so much for the great review! It is our pleasure to provide professional and friendly service to our guests. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobourg, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel after booking it on Priceline and lucky again we were to get such a gem at about 80 for the night. The room was super clean, the staff made check in a breeze. They had carts available to put your luggage on to make your arrival less stress.

I find the Courtyard as a whole are a great place to stay

Room Tip: i always stay as far away from elevators as possible for two reasons. One is that your near a fire e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen W, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Gettysburg, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you for staying with us! Glad to hear you had a pleasant stay and enjoyed our clean rooms. Come stay again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth uk
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

This hotel was the most expensive on our 3 week tour but the very worst, from the start the reception staff were very offhand, we had a broken tap in our room, we had to clean our teeth in bottled water as they did not fix it despite requesting it twice. The toilet was blocked, that did get sorted straight away but overall not a good stay. Would not stay there again.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen W, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Gettysburg, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. Your feedback is much appreciated, as it gives us an opportunity to improve. I truly apologize for the unwelcoming service you received upon check-in. This is not our standard of service, and I have spoken with the Front Office Manager to address this issue. He has also researched the service recovery issue with your lack of cold water in your room. It was unacceptable for this issue to not get resolved during your stay, and for that I apologize. I really do hope you'll consider staying with us again should you return to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mpls., MN
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

It's the 150 anniversary of the battle in Gettysburg and the hotels are doing a good business, so why not take full advantage. I stay here because it's convenient to family when I'm visiting, but next time? The room rate was high, the room OK, but for the price you'd at least expect breakfast and a newspaper. No, breakfast is good, but 11$ and you're still serving yourself, papers are supposedly stacked in the computer area, but gone unless you're an early riser.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen W, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Gettysburg, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for staying at our hotel, and we appreciate your feedback. I apologize for the lack of newspapers in the morning, we aim to have enough for all guests in the hotel. Unfortunately, it is Courtyard brand standard that breakfast is separate from the room rate, hence the $10.95 charge for breakfast. We hope you'll consider staying with us again next time you are in Gettysburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walden, Tenn
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

This is a "typical" Courtyard in design, so if you like business-oriented hotels with a full range of amenities, that is well managed, you will like this hotel. There is really little to criticize here (I'm not a fan of the $10.95 breakfast but perhaps you can be lucky and receive a voucher for comp breakfast); one of the treadmills was a bit balky; the elevator was slow; wish there was parking a bit closer to the doors. But these are all tiny nitpicks (well, except for the breakfast). Everything else about this hotel is just fine. No reason in the world to shy away from this property.

It is located out of town with only two restaurants and another hotel within walking distance (along with a cineplex) and if you are there for the battlefield, you have a long drive by G'burg standards to reach the Park. But it is safe, convenient to US 15 and US 30 east of town.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen W, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Gettysburg, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to review your stay. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and do apologize for the malfunctioning treadmill. I have notified our maintenance department to have them each checked.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
303 helpful votes 303 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

This is a typical new Courtyard--clean lines, modern design, etc. There was plenty of free parking at the hotel and check-in was fast and easy. The room was pretty. I had a king-sized bed, which was comfortable (although not the famed "Marriott Bed"), the microwave and fridge were a nice touch, and the hotel was very quiet. I would stay here again. As others have said, it's off the main strip of Gettysburg, but to me, this is a plus, as the main road is pretty touristy and noisy. It's only a couple minutes' drive to the battlefield and there's a Starbucks and Wal-Mart just down the street to the left.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen W, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Gettysburg, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for the great review. We're glad you enjoyed our rooms and convenient location. Hope to see you again next time you're in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Gettysburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Gettysburg

Address: 115 Presidential Circle, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Gettysburg
#7 Business Hotel in Gettysburg
#16 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
#17 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Gettysburg 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Marriott, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Otel, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Gettysburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Gettysburg Hotel Gettysburg
Courtyard Gettysburg
Gettysburg Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Gettysburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.