We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay away from the crowds” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Gettysburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Gettysburg to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Gettysburg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   115 Presidential Circle, Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$20 Daily Credit
Ranked #17 of 29 Hotels in Gettysburg
GreenLeadersBronze level
Westmont, Illinois
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay away from the crowds”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

9/1/2013

We spent a couple of nights here, away from the heavier touristed areas of Gettysburg. The location is good. The staff was friendly.

The bed was soft, uncomfortably soft, with a noticeable roll towards the center. The bed is a SMALL king-sized bed. 72" is the width I measured; not the 76" which is more common. The room was nicely decorated and clean. The AC was inconsistent in its ability to control the temperature, but overall acceptable. The bathroom was large and the tub has a seat at one end, which my wife enjoyed while soaking her aching feet.

Breakfast is not free, but a decent buffet exists and cook-to-order omelets and eggs can be had. It is possible to order a few items off of menus, but why bother. The price was reasonable. The eating area is quite comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen W, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Gettysburg, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. We are always glad to hear that our staff was hospitable and that you enjoyed our accommodations. Come stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    144
    53
    14
    2
See reviews for
121
123
15
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed two nights, and I was very pleased. Our room was very clean, and I loved the layout. Our bathroom was nice and large and the tub had a granite seat at one end. I would stay here again. We did not have breakfast here though, since there was a nice family restaurant just up the road.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen W, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Gettysburg, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. We are happy to have provided you with clean, comfortable accommodations and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpers Ferry, West Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We checked into our room and were surprised to find the sheer curtains were torn - not frayed at the bottom, but huge holes right in the middle. Given that other reviewers had reported this weeks before our stay, I was surprised to find it was still a problem. In addition, the toilet seat lid and sink were cracked, the toiletries looked like someone threw them on the counter, there was human hair all over the ceiling, and upon using the towels in the shower we discovered a huge goopy mess under them. So either the cleaning staff didn't bother to clean up the obvious mess (ew!) or they never changed out the towels between stays (also ew!). We went down to the hot tub only to discover that it was being refilled. The maintenance man sitting next to the garden hose being used for refilling told us the pool was okay to use. He then proceeded to stare at us as we got into the pool thoroughly creeping us out. We got into the pool to discover that the water was murky/cloudy, there was debris floating on the water's surface, and multiple hair bands on the floor of the pool. Between the creepy guy and the unclean pool, we never went back to try the hot tub.

I travel to Gettysburg frequently to visit and for college alumni events, not only would I never stay in this hotel again, I would advise my friends and classmates against it too. There are too many hotel options in Gettysburg to risk getting a sub-standard, unclean room.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen W, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Gettysburg, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Courtyard Gettysburg, your input is greatly appreciated. I would like to truly apologize for the experience you had while staying with us. I have spoken with both our Housekeeping Manager as well as our Chief Engineer about the issues you brought to our attention, and they have been addressed. I can assure you that this is not the norm at our hotel, nor is it acceptable. We hope you will consider staying with us again next time you are in Gettysburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crofton, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Not the nicest Marriott I've stayed in but great value for the price, staff was friendly, rooms were well equipped, clean and up to date. Biggest minus was the lack of complimentary breakfast so we ate at a few places close by on Hwy 30. Definitely recommend for a Gettysburg stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen W, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Gettysburg, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Courtyard Gettysburg, and for taking the time to review your stay. We are glad that our service and room cleanliness exceeded your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethpage, NY
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is a very good Courtyard property that in on Route 30 and convenient to Gettysburg and some of the local colleges. There is nearby dining and a great movie theater. This Courtyard has not yet been refurbished and that is good! They continue to serve a breakfast buffet and they have a relaxing sitting area with a bar that is great before or after dinner for a drink. We've stayed here several times and the rooms are very, very clean.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen W, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Gettysburg, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay! We appreciate your loyalty in staying with us multiple times, and hope you'll come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed for one night in August 2013 on a business trip and the hotel exceeded my expectations, especially for the price. Everything was extremely clean, the beds were comfortable. I will say that there is no free continental breakfast, just a pay buffet which I did not partake in but my fellow travelers did and said it was pretty decent. Overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Gettysburg. It is also located conveniently in a shopping center with a movie theater and stores, and is a VERY short drive to "downtown" Gettysburg.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen W, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Gettysburg, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for the great review. We pride ourselves on being a great place to stay for business travelers and leisure guests alike.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

stayed here for a weekend - the hotel is very nice, very clean. Breakfast is available at a reasonable price, has a small bar area and a nice size lounge. Nice pool, nicely equipped gym, and a gazebo outside for relaxing. Located in the parking lot is a multi screen movie theatre and the Appalachian Brewing Company Micro-brew/restaurant. Located at the other end of the historic district, but only a few miles away.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen W, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Gettysburg, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. We are glad that you took advantage of so many of our amenities, the gazebo is indeed a beautiful place to relax during the late summer evenings. We hope you'll come stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Gettysburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Gettysburg

Address: 115 Presidential Circle, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Gettysburg
#8 Business Hotel in Gettysburg
#16 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
#17 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Gettysburg 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Gettysburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Gettysburg Hotel Gettysburg
Courtyard Gettysburg
Gettysburg Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Gettysburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.