We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Colton Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Colton Motel to your Saves list
Colton Motel
232 Steinwehr Avenue, Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 29 Hotels in Gettysburg
pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Colton Motel this past May with our two small children, which was their first trip to Gettysburg and it was fantastic. The room was super clean, the bathroom was spotless, as was the rest of the room and the staff was extremely friendly and hospitable. The motel is right in the center of town which made it so easy for us, with a double stroller, we were able to walk to everything we wanted to see : ) Also, the price for the room was awesome!! We loved it so much, we are staying there again next month when we visit Gettysburg with my sister and her family. I just made the reservations this morning : ) Highly recommend!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    68
    29
    24
    22
See reviews for
63
64
20
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Moultonborough
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Whoever the owner of this motel is, should certainly sink a little money into repairs and replacement of furnishings. This would make the rating a 5 for everything, but I'm sure the price of rooms would go up and be on par with surrounding motels then.

The saving grace for this property is the excellent staff that is employed there. I have never stayed anywhere where the staff have been more friendly, polite, and attentive to the needs of their guests. Robert (who always said "yes mam" and "yes sir") and Pauli were constantly on the go, bringing extra cups, towels, cots, a replacement TV and a fridge that was missing from one of the rooms. Bailey helped with getting keys to work in the door locks and entertained us with stories of the rooms that were haunted. Her personal experiences, as well as those of guests. It was better than the ghost tour that is offered in Gettysburg!

We were in town to celebrate my brother's birthday. His family had a room next to ours and my sister had the room next to his. My brother and I would certainly stay at the Colton again. My wife and sister were a little less impressed.

If you want an inexpensive place to stay, right in the heart of the tourist area, this is the place!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

The night before we got an overpriced room outside of downtown with a chain hotel, it was adequate but disappointing.
Sunday morning we saw several other motorcycles parked at the Colton right in the heart of town, Miz Brenda gave us a very warm welcome and the better price on a room than we have seen in years. Is the motel old? well yes and so are we!! Brenda and her whole family went out of their way to make us feel welcome and comfortable. Truly a GREAT innkeeper! Sure the rooms could use some upgrades, in room coffee pots, couple more pillows, but overall the best value for our traveling dollar. We look forward to staying there again and would very much recommend the Colton to all bikers.

Room Tip: you can get smoker or non-smoking rooms, when was the last time you saw that?
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntersville
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I was somewhat surprised by the poor quality of this hotel. Let me say first that I expected better based on reviews however I should have known based on the price. First, if you want cheap and location this is the place, otherwise stay away. This facility looks and is ancient. The beds are awful. They bounce and are lumpy. The shelf going into the bathroom is badly placed. Hit my head three times. The guy in the office needs training in how to act in front of customers. The furniture is ancient and the room small. TE window ac sounds like a freight train. It was cheap but not worth it. Pay a little more and stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: No good rooms that I saw but ask for one back from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st pauls nc
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

nice and clean have stayed there before ,great value good location,staff was very nice,had to take a smoking room,but staff came and sprayed for smoke oder.was cloce to cafe &resturant,will stay there again

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

we wanted a cheap place to stay as we knew most of our time would be spent seeing the sites. we hate spending hundreds of bucks for a place where we only sleep. if this is similar to what you’re looking for in the gettysburg area then colton is the place to be.

positives:
- the price: you can’t beat it!
- brenda, the owner was a trip and made sure you knew she was there if you need her. She was super funny and gave us great recommendations for things to do nearby.
- location: perfect walking distance to so many attractions and places to eat and drink. this gave us the opportunity to do the strolling we were looking for and also not be bothered with lots of cars and people. It was also super safe and quiet. this is NOT in the area congested with hotels and bed and breakfasts which is nice.

negatives:
- the room and bed creeped me out a little. i knew not to expect anything great and i’m also not picky but i was scared to touch things in the room for some reason. It was just a little dingy, not dirty just dingy.

this hotel did the trick for the amount of time we spent there. if coming for a nights visit we would be sure to stay here again so we could have some extra money for all the fun things gettysburg has to offer. go mount!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
strongstown
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

I decided to give this dump a try after seeing that it had good reviews. I'm not picky about outdated furniture and carpet or ugly décor so I though this motel would be okay...boy was I wrong! The pros: cheap, great location, friendly/helpful staff, plenty of parking, quiet, great A/C, plenty of hot water, clean sheets and towels, nice covered area to sit outside your room. If you stay here bring along folding lawn chairs and enjoy the outdoors.The cons: lumpy pillows, rusty fixtures in the bathroom, no vents/fans in the bathroom, very dusty A/C vents and window coverings, no alarm, no hair dryer, no iron(unless you ask), tv didn't work, pool shallow and a little shabby, strange smell in the room...like a dirty bathroom, towels are tiny and scratchy, furniture was broken and scuffed, and the beds are dirty and stained. To be fair it looks like they are trying to update the place, but it is not being done professionally. I was brushing my teeth before check out and happened to look up. What did I see? A razor blade tucked in the corner of the light fixture(see photos). The staff was very nice and very helpful. They are trying, but it seems the owner is the problem here. Do yourself a favor and find another place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back overlooking the cemetery, bring folding chairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Colton Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colton Motel

Address: 232 Steinwehr Avenue, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Colton Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colton Motel Gettysburg
Colton Hotel Gettysburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colton Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.