We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Colton Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Colton Motel to your Saves list
Colton Motel
232 Steinwehr Avenue, Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 29 Hotels in Gettysburg
Erie, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We have been going to Gettysburg for over 20 years. We have stayed at the Colton for the past 15. Granted its not the ritz but if you want a clean room, great location and and outstanding general manager Brenda and her staff are top notch!! They are all about hospitality!! Can't wait to return at the end of June and spend another great weekend at the Colton in Gettysburg!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    68
    29
    24
    22
See reviews for
63
64
20
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

Once again,for pure value and location,the colton was awesome! If your looking for vegas style hotels,this isn' t it,but for a decent place to stay in a great area and good price,the colton can' t be beat! Will be back again next year!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittston, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

The Colton Motel is a great place to stay....it is very affordable price wise...rooms are very clean....all of the staff treat you like one of their best friends....is located in the center of town and can walk to majority of the attractions.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Very accomodating staff! Could not ask for a better location, stayed in room 12. Nothing fancy, great for the price! Only drawback-no hairdryer:(
Highly reccomend, already planning on going back! Tommy's Pizza was excellent, great food and service!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

I had the motel recommended by a friend at home in Maine...when I arrived it had just begun to rain...Brenda greeted me as I drove my motorcycle into the parking lot,she directed me to park it on the enclosed walkway in front of my room!! It is not the Hilton,but very clean,centrally located, and she tries to make folks feel at home!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Front Royal, Virginia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Beanda is a sweetheart a will make sure you have everything you need. The motel is located in the middle of town so walking to everything is possible. I stayed in room 20 lots of room and clean with a nice glider outside the room door.

Room Tip: Room 20 large on back side with easy access to room for easy unloading.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse,NY
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

You really can't beat the price.If you're bringing kids,it's cheap enough(compared to other nearby lodging) that you could probably spring for two rooms. This place is dated, but clean. It's walking distance to lots of shops and eateries. No frige or coffee maker( the wiring in the motel is too old for them). You could walk to the circle in the middle of town in 10-15 minutes. It's right across from the cemetary.This place has some sort of "ghostly" connection. But since there is no such thing as ghosts, I didn't see any. I have no compaints. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Colton Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colton Motel

Address: 232 Steinwehr Avenue, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Colton Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colton Motel Gettysburg
Colton Hotel Gettysburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colton Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.