We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice hotel, a little pricey” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1061 York St,, Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn 2x Points
Ranked #10 of 29 Hotels in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
330 reviews 330 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 160 cities Reviews in 160 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
“Really nice hotel, a little pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

My wife and I stayed here on July 1st - 3rd for the 150th anniversary of the Battle of Gettysburg. The hotel, to start with, is VERY nice. Room was clean, well designed, and a wonderful retreat. The hotel was very nice with a great business center, pool, and the staff was friendly. The other thing, because we attended for a special event, the staff provided maps and brochures for the event, which we thought was a great touch. Finally, location. This hotel is located 1.5 miles from the town and 2 miles from the battlefield. The town and battlefield are easy to navigate and this hotel is a great jumping off point for exploring.
The only drawback for this hotel is the price. At above $275 for the event and $175 for a normal night, the price is the only thing keeping this from a 5-star. Otherwise, great stay and place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

725 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    398
    227
    77
    16
    7
See reviews for
253
202
44
131
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nieuw en Sint Joosland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

The HGI at Gettysburg is a good hotel with a helpful staff. Breakfast was good. The room was very clean. We stayed during the re-enactment weekend and when I booked the room it was probably about the last available room in town. This probably explain why the price went up over $400 a night. (ex. breakfast) But i guess thats just good business. And we met general and mrs. Grant! And got our picture taken ofcourse. ;-)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamston, Michigan
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

I found this hotel to be very nice, clean, modern, and comfortable. I was surprised I was able to get a room for a night during the recent busy Gettysburg 150th period and at a very reasonable rate. Now I'm seeing rates almost double what I paid, so I feel really fortunate I was able to experience this better class hotel. Would definitely stay here again. No real negatives other than no free breakfast and no microwave in the room. I did utilize their 24 hour laundry room. I liked that there was a Giant grocery store out in the back (24 hour, too). There's also an Arby's down by the corner and a Mc Donald's just down the road. Also a WalMart in the vicinity. A short drive to downtown Gettysburg. It's such a small town that you're basically within 15 minutes of just about everything. Another bonus is that you're actually staying on an historic site. Apparently, there was a Civil War hospital set up here at one time, according to the plaque out front.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

The Garden Inn was neat clean, and the staff was extremely helpful. In spite of being filled to capacity, everyone was very helpful and professional. We travel to Gettysburg regularly, and always have a couple families, and will stay with these folks again. It is a great location to see the Gettysburg area, and easy access to the activities and sites around town.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina T, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us! I am thrilled to see you enjoyed your stay! We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenison, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Overall the stay was very good. The only drawbacks were the fact that you're paying over $150 per night for a room and the hotel can't find its way to provide a complimentary breakfast. Had to pay almost $18.00 for three people to have a bowl of cereal, a glass of juice and a bagel! Also, the wait staff for dinner were inexperienced (asking to have the bill paid before even being served the meal!) and the meals were not worthy of the $74.00 it cost.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

I arrived late and only stayed one night here, but the stay was problem free and very comfortable.

The Front Desk Manager (steve?) was working the night I checked in and he was very informative about all the renovations the hotel was going through, but none of it was visible or disruptive at all. Some of the nice touches in the lobby had been completed.

I had a nice double room that was very clean and fresh when I checked in. I left the hotel at 5:00 am so I didn't get to enjoy the great breakfast they offer.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlotte
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My family and I stayed at the Hilton for a 4 day visit to Gettysburg. Hotel was very clean and staff was very friendly and helpful. It is close to all the attractions, but you will need to drive a short way to get to the attractions. The drive wasn't a problem as we would drive down and park and spend the day seeing the sites. If we ever return to Gettysburg, I will make sure we stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg

Address: 1061 York St,, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Gettysburg
#2 Business Hotel in Gettysburg
#9 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
#11 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg hotel in Pennsylvania is located in the heartland of American freedom with historical sights, museums and just minutes from the Gettysburg Battlefield and National Park Visitor Center. Other venues, also close to the Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg in Pennsylvania, include the Gettysburg College, Boyds Bear Factory, Gettysburg Village Factory Outlets, and antique shops. The hotel is just 15 miles to UTZ and Snyder's Snack Outlets with Gettysburg Lutheran Seminary and Mount Saint Mary's College nearby. The hotel is a great central location for Pennsylvania cities and attractions. York, Harrisburg and Hershey Lancaster, DC, and Baltimore are nearby cities all with attractions for the Pennsylvania visitor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg Hotel Gettysburg
Gettysburg Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Gettysburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.