We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1061 York St,, Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 25%
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Gettysburg
GreenLeadersBronze level
Roanoke, Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Very beautiful hotel. Staff were wonderful. Breakfast was a little hectic and dinner a little cold, but overall had a great stay.
Hotel grounds are well kept. Hotel is either brand new or like new.
Pool a little chilly! Nice hot tub. Could use some weights in the fitness room

Room Tip: Don't think there is a bad room. 201 is set up well for handicapped persons.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cmvendetti27, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for staying with us during your visit to Gettysburg! Thank you so sharing your experience and concerns over the restaurant and pool. We will look into those matters to address them! We look forward to seeing you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    210
    73
    15
    8
See reviews for
236
188
41
128
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
boston
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Very good price for a very good stay. Excellent customer service at the front desk and restaurants. Nice, clean place.

We ate at The Great American Grill in the lobby for dinner and breakfast. It was nice and the food was very good. It did take a little long and my salad was missing a main ingredient that was on the menu. But, food was good and hot and very nicely made. Server was very attentive and friendly.

Breakfast was out of bacon but it was good, quick, clean and easy.

We would stay there and eat there again if in town. Superb value for the money

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cmvendetti27, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you for staying with us! We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

There was nothing wrong with the room or check in . Everything was exactly the way it should be. Nothing special but nothing wrong. The issue again was with breakfast. They have had issues in the past and now again. I stayed two nights. The first morning the girl who is normally is the cook. They are out of bacon and said they needed to make more. They were having a problem with the grill or something and couldn't figure it out. Well that can happen when the server is now a cook. The next morning it was worse. They had a cook. All though not the long term one that is now gone he was a cook. So I ordered an omelet, with bacon , cheese, sausage and light green pepper. Pretty simple right. Well what I got was an omelet , with all those items laid on top. Big chucks of sausage , and green pepper over top of big pieces of bacon over a light layer of cheese on top. I am 45 years old and had more than my share of omelets. Never have I had one where the items weren't chopped up and cooked into the omelet. Then the only yogurt they have is one that has an artificial sweetener in it. There are many yogurts out dont go so cheap or offer a variety so those of us who would prefer yogurt can actually have one without an artificial sweetener. I gave 3 because the hotel was a 5 but the breakfast was a 1.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cmvendetti27, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review on the hotel and restaurant. I am disappointed to see you had an unsatisfactory breakfast experience and will certainly share you concerns with our F&B Manager for coaching purposes. We do value your feedback and have see great improvement this past year out of our restaurant as we had a change in the management team, we will continue to implement changes to help ensure these new processes are consistent for our guests to have an outstanding experience each visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

My husband and I stayed for one night. Though it wasn't very cold when we arrived the fire place in the lobby was lit and created a very warm and welcoming ambiance. We arrived a little early but our room was ready. We liked that they have coffee and tea available in the lobby all day. We came back to the hotel around 9:30 p.m. and took tea and cookies up to the room for a sweet snack. There is a coffee pot in the room but it was easier to just grab a cup in the lobby. We selected the bed & breakfast option when we made our reservation and it was a very good value. Room was very clean, breakfast was good, staff was very pleasant. Would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cmvendetti27, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for rating us a great value! We know that many travelers are looking for the best value for each dollar spent while traveling and I am thrilled you found that with us! We look forward to serving you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwestern Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We've stayed at this hotel more than once, and for good reason. The staff goes out of their way to make you feel welcome. The on site restaurant is great! Open for breakfast and dinner, it is much better than your average hotel eatery, with a very nice dinner selection including wine and beer. Rooms are clean, spacious and comfortable. Hotel is located a short drive from everything you'd like to see in Gettysburg, and is a great value.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cmvendetti27, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you so much for the kind words on our hotel! We are thrilled you enjoy your stays with us and meals as well! We certainly look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

As my husband and I entered the lovely lobby, we were greeted by the aroma of fresh baked cookies. Ohhh yes! Hot out of the oven. Steve greeted us, took care of our reservations, and my hubby and settled into our room for the next three days. We enjoyed a delicous dinner Monday evening. They have a nice wine and beer selections. Breakfast each morning was quite good. They even have herbal tea : ) The pool was just a tad on the cool side; however, once I got into my water aerobics routine, I was okay. The hot tub helped to warm me up a little more. Ohhh, ask them to tell you the story about the hotel sign. Yes, they have a story to share. Tip: turn right at the traffic light as if you're driving to the mall, then turn left to the Hilton. Enjoy!

Room Tip: We requested a quiet room which was honored. Top floor, away from the elevators and the ice machine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cmvendetti27, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us! We love when staff is recognized by name for their outstanding efforts and I will be happy to share this with the team. Steve is our Front Office Supervisor, so it shows he leads by example. I am happy to see you enjoyed your experience in our restaurant as well. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, NJ
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Stayed here thanksgiving night with my family. Staff was extremely courteous, not sure if this was because they knew I am a Hilton Hhonors 'diamond' member but nonetheless. As a diamond member I requested a room upgrade (which I often get when travelning on business though at those times don't really need) as a separate bedroom for the kiddies would have been nice. No 'suites' in this hotel, so no luck there, but the staff did instead give me 2 extra breakfast vouchers (in addition to the 2 I automatically get as a diamond member) so my whole family was covered. The room was very clean & everything (TV, HVAC, internet, etc) functioned properly. Breakfast was cooked to order and very good. Outstanding value for the price, especially with the discount I got from being an 'aaa' member. Would definitely stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cmvendetti27, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you so much for the kind words on the property and staff! We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay, and while we could not accommodate the request for a suite I am very happy to see that the team was able to offer an alternative opportunity for you to have a comfortable visit. We look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg

Address: 1061 York St,, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Gettysburg
#1 Green Hotel in Gettysburg
#10 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
#10 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg hotel in Pennsylvania is located in the heartland of American freedom with historical sights, museums and just minutes from the Gettysburg Battlefield and National Park Visitor Center. Other venues, also close to the Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg in Pennsylvania, include the Gettysburg College, Boyds Bear Factory, Gettysburg Village Factory Outlets, and antique shops. The hotel is just 15 miles to UTZ and Snyder's Snack Outlets with Gettysburg Lutheran Seminary and Mount Saint Mary's College nearby. The hotel is a great central location for Pennsylvania cities and attractions. York, Harrisburg and Hershey Lancaster, DC, and Baltimore are nearby cities all with attractions for the Pennsylvania visitor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg Hotel Gettysburg
Gettysburg Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Gettysburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.