We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Friendly & Welcoming” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg

Save Saved
You added Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1061 York St,, Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 25%
Ranked #4 of 29 hotels in Gettysburg
GreenLeadersBronze level
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Clean, Friendly & Welcoming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

My husband, my two sons and I just spent a lovely night at this hotel during an impromptu visit to Gettysburg. The room was clean & fresh, the indoor pool & hot tub were lovely. Breakfast was delicious and though the wait-staff was extremely busy, they did a great job of taking care of all the customers. We all enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cmvendetti27, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review on our property! We are glad you had a great stay and we look forward to seeing you again when you return to Gettysburg!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

575 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    326
    171
    56
    13
    9
See reviews for
205
154
30
112
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Flemington, New Jersey
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stay at this Hilton Garden Inn 2 to 3 times a year when visiting Gettysburg. It is located on a main road along with many other hotels, restaurants, and shopping areas - just a few miles outside of the historic downtown area and battlefields.

During our most recent stay, I was able to check in about two hours early, which was much appreciated. The room was flawlessly clean and the front desk staff was very professional. There is a restaurant onsite that serves breakfast and dinner, and dozens of additional restaurants nearby. As a HHonors member, our all-you-can-eat breakfast was complimentary. Choices included made-to-order egg dishes, breakfast meats, fresh fruit, juice, coffee, pastries, cereal, yogurt, bagels, etc. Everything was tasty and our servers were attentive and pleasant.

The room was a fairly standard hotel room - except - this one was spotlessly clean, had a very comfortable bed, and also included a microwave and refrigerator. I heard no other noises from any other rooms or the hallway. The air conditioning worked well and was quiet - no noisy, distracting, on-and-off sounds.

If you don't mind being a few miles away from the historic area, this hotel is an excellent choice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cmvendetti27, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thank you very much for the kind words on our property! We are thrilled you enjoyed your visit and we certainly look forward to serving you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Waited an hour for room service. Waited for someone to appear at the front desk. This is what happens when you hire a bunch of "teenagers," who don't do anything but talk to one another and ignore the customers! So disappointing.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cmvendetti27, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
First and foremost, I'd like to thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience. While extremely disappointed to hear your stay was not up to expectation, I would like to ask you to consider giving our hotel another shot in the future as this is NOT a typical experience at our property... as you can see by other candid reviews on this site. We are an equal opportunity employer and due strive to hire the best candidate, regardless of age, based on finding staff members that embrace the Hilton philosophy of being "hospitable." I will certainly be sharing your comments with my entire team as I, just as you, find this experience highly unacceptable and will take immediate action to ensure this is not a repeated experience for you or any of our valued guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utica, New York
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

I stay at Hilton Hotels fairly often because of good past experiences, however I was a little less pleased with this hotel than previous ones. The rate was fairly high when you consider that there was not a free continental breakfast and the dinner menu was less than desirable-- not a good selection of entrees. The staff was courteous and friendly and hotel was clean. However, our waiter took a VERY long time to return our credit card and we finally had to ask for it. I did appreciate the 2 free water bottles for being a Hilton Honors members and I appreciated the AAA discount rate. The bed and pillow were unusually comfortable! As a chiropractor, I appreciated this!! It is fairly close to Gettysburg and located in an area near a lot of conveniences. It is, however, a litte tricky trying to find the entrance into the place. Overall, I think the good outweighed the bad.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cmvendetti27, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thank you so much for staying with us and sharing your experience. I'm glad your overall stay was a good one and sorry to hear that you did not find a dinner selection that was desirable for your palate that evening. We did introduce a brand new dinner menu recently and it has received many excellent reviews and I do hope that you will consider giving our Great American Grill another look next time your travels bring you to the area. As an upscale mid-service hotel, we do not offer a free breakfast, but we offer a full hot cooked-to-order breakfast with freshly baked pastries done onsite! We feel our breakfast is a much more enjoyable experience for our travelers as you can get higher quality foods with us and items made specifically for you just as you like! I do hope that you will stay with us again and I hope that your next stay yields the outstanding experience we strive to give our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willow Grove, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

After a 2hr drive, the hotel was a welcome sight. We arrived a it early,and the room was not yet ready so we headed to the Outlets and just after we got there the hotel called to tell us that the room was ready, so they helped me in saving all that money we would have spent at the outlet. The room was the perfect size, and after checking out the pool and fitness area, found out they also have a breakfasts and dinner on site which will be very helpful in not having t leave to eat. All in all a bargain for the price ,w we are very happ with out choice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cmvendetti27, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thank you so much for staying with us! I am thrilled to see you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and enjoyed our Great American Grill. Our staff strives to get any guests who wish to check in early in their room as soon as possible, and I'm glad we were able to assist you in that during this trip. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Alamos, New Mexico
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We have stayed here several times. Mainly to for Gettysburg College related activities. The hotel is fine. The food is good and the wine in the evenings is also good. Good service and the off peak prices are ok. Peak prices are what they are.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cmvendetti27, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thank you so much for staying with us! We value your loyalty! We are a part of the Gettysburg College Discount program if you wish to use that upon your next stay! It offers many benefits to families coming to the college who are in this program as you can receive a gift certificate to our Pavilion Pantry, 10% off your room rate and discounts in our restaurant the Great American Grill. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We chose the Hilton based on reviews on Tripadvisor as we were looking for a quiet hotel as the one we were staying in was very noisy. When we arrived we were greeted by a lovely lady at reception. The reception area was clean and spacious and we were delighted to find a bar and restaurant.

As we walked into our room, 219 we were really pleased with the layout and decor. Then I heard a really loud noise. As the hotel was set back from the road I was very surprised at how noisy the room was - that was until I looked out of the window where I discovered a unit the size of a small shipping container. The noise was coming from this unit which appeared to be over the kitchens below. Unfortunately there was no way I could have stayed in this room. I went back down to reception not expecting very much, in fact fully prepared to lose my money as it was after the cancellation time, but the receptionist was lovely. She said that she fully understood as she was a light sleeper and switched us to room 309. After we moved rooms she contacted us to check that the room was ok. It was perfect.

After a lovely night's sleep we had breakfast in the restaurant, ours was included but for those that didn't have that option the continental breakfast was just $6.95 and the full cooked breakfast $9,95. Our waiter, Levi and all the staff were really friendly and helpful as was the morning receptionist.

I would recommend staying here,

Room Tip: Not room 219 as there is a large, noisy unit outside the window. A room on the top floor as you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cmvendetti27, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thank you so much for selecting our hotel as your 'home away from home' based on TripAdvisor reviews. We are thrilled you enjoyed your experience and that our team was able to rectify the concern you had over noise from your first room assignment to your satisfaction. We certainly look forward to seeing you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg

Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg Hotel Gettysburg
Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Gettysburg
Gettysburg Hilton
Address: 1061 York St,, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Gettysburg
#1 Green Hotel in Gettysburg
#4 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg hotel in Pennsylvania is located in the heartland of American freedom with historical sights, museums and just minutes from the Gettysburg Battlefield and National Park Visitor Center. Other venues, also close to the Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg in Pennsylvania, include the Gettysburg College, Boyds Bear Factory, Gettysburg Village Factory Outlets, and antique shops. The hotel is just 15 miles to UTZ and Snyder's Snack Outlets with Gettysburg Lutheran Seminary and Mount Saint Mary's College nearby. The hotel is a great central location for Pennsylvania cities and attractions. York, Harrisburg and Hershey Lancaster, DC, and Baltimore are nearby cities all with attractions for the Pennsylvania visitor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, HotelsClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.