We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic and quaint, enjoyed our stay.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Sky Motel

Save Saved
You added Blue Sky Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Blue Sky Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2585 Biglerville Rd., Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 29 hotels in Gettysburg
Newark, New York
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Rustic and quaint, enjoyed our stay.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

This is not your typical high-end motel. It is a small motel. Has what it says. Maybe in need of some updating/maintenance in the pool and landscaping. But, clean and friendly. It was perfect for me and my husbands anniversary getaway. A place to sleep and shower. Loved the "cabiny" feel. Will visit again!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueSkyMotelGetty, Owner at Blue Sky Motel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
We'd definitely want for you to stay with us again. However, on the next time we'll try to get a 5 star review from you. Sincerely, The Blue Sky Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    14
    9
    2
    19
See reviews for
15
22
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed here four times over the last three years and am always pleased. I've never seen a bug in the rooms, the beds have thick, comfy padding, and most rooms have a big deck that opens to a huge grassy area. The location is great. I like being outside of downtown Gettysburg because it's impossible to get a good night's sleep with the constant car and foot traffic and it's literally just seven minutes down one road to get to the shops and city. Will stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueSkyMotelGetty, Owner at Blue Sky Motel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. A lot of people don't realize the value of our location and clean rooms. We'd certainly want for you to stay with us again. Sincerely, The Blue Sky Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Our family has stayed here many times in the past and never had any problums with dirty rooms, bugs or such. We love to be just a short drive from town and out in the country. Its nice to sit out on the deck and look over the field.
My parents and us are coming out in Aug and I have had many friendly chats with Cindy that runs the front desk. she has been helpful, friendly and a joy to chat with. I can't wait to meet her in person this Aug.
If your looking for a country motel this is it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueSkyMotelGetty, Front Office Manager at Blue Sky Motel, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review. I look forward to seeing you as well in August.

-Cindy
Blue Sky Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auburn, ny
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed at this hotel on a quick trip to Gettysburg. We were a little worried seeing the reviews but we werent looking for a luxurious resort, just somewhere to crash. The room was dated but clean and unlike some pricier more modern places the walls were not paper thin which made for a goid night sleep. Also being out if the main tourist area in Gettysburg was nice. If you are just looking for an inexpensive place to lay your head this hotel will fit the bill

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueSkyMotelGetty, Owner at Blue Sky Motel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We really appreciate it.

-The Blue Sky Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

One thing you must remember..... All Motels/Hotels are "over priced" in the Gettysburg, PA area! This little price is a GEM from the years gone by. It was a "Top of the line" when it was built, and is still a great rustic site.

If you like Natural Pine siding, a quiet location set back from the highway with country views out your back window, and do not mind smaller rooms this is an ideal site for you. It is NOT a cover-up, but original rustic location.

Yes, smaller/older bath, and room, but not your typical $145.00 per night as are many of the Gettysburg, PA locations.

Great smaller COUNTRY location with in ground swimming pool, nice small play ground for the children, Suite, Kitchenette and Family rooms available with semi private deck access from your back door.

NOTICE>>>> If your looking for a LARGE, Ultra modern room this location is NOT for you.

If you like Rustic Country look, this may be your site,.

Room Tip: If your traveling with family (children) you'll want one of their family or kitchenette rooms, o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueSkyMotelGetty, Owner at Blue Sky Motel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We really appreciate your feedback.

- The Blue Sky Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annville, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

it is nothing like their website at all . there was no hot water for a shower it was luck warm my hubby went in the office to talk to them and the guy was in there with his pants open sweating like a pig we booked this room on the internet like 3 weeks ahead of time. the hubby went in to tell them we were moving to another motel and to give them the key and asked about a refund and they said no WE DO NOT LIVE LIKE THAT AT HOME AND WE WLL NOT LIVE LIKE THAT AWAY FROM HOME. NEVER AGAIN I THINK WE WILL BE REPOTING THEM . if u are smart u would not stay here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueSkyMotelGetty, Owner at Blue Sky Motel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Management should have been more accommodating in meeting your needs. As the owner I would like to make it up to you. Please give me a call at 215-285-8679. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We always stay at the Blue Sky Motel when we go to Gettysburg. Clean rooms and very helpful staff! You also can't be the price! We like to stay in Gettysburg rather than finding a hotel in another town. It's very convenient to the battlefield and other attractions and I like having the option of going back to the room to freshen up and/or nap. Will be back soon!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Blue Sky Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Sky Motel

Also Known As:
Blue Sky Hotel
Blue Sky Gettysburg
Address: 2585 Biglerville Rd., Gettysburg, PA 17325
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 29 hotels in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Blue Sky Motel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visiting Gettysburg? Why pay the big prices to the big corporate chains with their CEOs and CFOs? You’ll love our nifty, cozy-comfy rooms and friendly, helpful personal service. We offer pleasant country atmosphere only 6 minutes driving slowly from Lincoln Square. Our swimming pool, picnic and play areas offer fun and relaxation for the entire family. Or, retreat to the sofa in one of our spacious family units and curl up to your favorite book or TV show. Enjoy the best of both worlds while visiting the Gettysburg Battlefield and nearby attractions. We are pet friendly and offer 4 acres of land for you to enjoy with your critters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Blue Sky Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Sky Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.