We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice For The Price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Sky Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Blue Sky Motel to your Saves list
Blue Sky Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2585 Biglerville Rd., Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 29 Hotels in Gettysburg
Norfolk, Virginia, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice For The Price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We recently stayed here for three nights and were very comfortble in our room. The rooms are very dated and could use new curtains and bedspreads but were very clean and we got clean sheets on the second day so housekeeping was not a problem. The only downside we had was the fridge did not stay cold but we had a cooler with us and ice was availble so it was not an issue. Also dont count on wifi here, even going outside didnt help, however we were busy on the battlefield so for us personally this was not a problem. If your looking for fancy then dont come here but if you just need a place to lay your head then you will do ok here for the money. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    14
    10
    4
    20
See reviews for
15
24
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Galeton, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Used to be a nice place to stay but in recent years it has gone way downhill. Beds are far too saggy, always needed to ask for more toilet paper, etc. Another annoying problem is idiots parking in a numbered spot other than their own forcing you to carry any luggage farther. This place is a mere shadow of what it used to be. I suppose they figure what the heck, another sucker tourist will take your place.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed here for the 7th time. This time during Gettysburg Bike Week in July. As usual staff very friendly, coffee brewed early enough for those of us who are early birds, room clean, new air conditioner in the room we had. Pool crystal clear. Already made reservations for same time next year!! Great people.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mogadore, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

I stayed at the Blue Sky Motel 7-13-12 through 7-15-12. Room # 8. There were ants and bugs all over the room. When I came home, I had multiple bed bug bites all over my legs, esp around my ankles. The room was filthy. The person I traveled with also has bites. I am not saying this to get $$$$, just dont want it to happen to anyone else. Rm kept tidy by staff, but lots of bugs...

Room Tip: Staff was pleasant, came in and emptied trash daily. Snack machine overpriced and food was outdated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueSkyMotelGetty, Manager at Blue Sky Motel, responded to this review, July 28, 2012
Hello. We apologize that you did not enjoy your stay. We had the room inspected by Home Paramount and they did not find any bugs. However, please give us a call at 717-677-7736 so we can rectify the situation. Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We had a terrific stay at the Blue Sky Motel - friendly staff, very helpful. Clean and comfortable rooms - we had a double and it was very spacious. Loved the pool!!

Room Tip: Double room is very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueSkyMotelGetty, Manager at Blue Sky Motel, responded to this review, July 28, 2012
Thanks so much. We look forward to seeing you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011 via mobile

We checked in when another family was checking in they noted dead bed bugs. Upon inspection of our room we also discovered dead bed bugs. The owner lied to us and gave us a hard time about refunding our money.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueSkyMotelGetty, Owner at Blue Sky Motel, responded to this review, November 10, 2011
I find this review to be quite disturbing since it's not true. Blue Sky has a longstanding commitment to cleanliness. The motel has been around since 1950 and has cultivated a strong reputation as an affordable place with great customer service, and a clean, cozy atmosphere.

I encourage anyone and everyone to come to Blue Sky and check the beds, furniture, bathrooms, etc. to ensure that it meets your standards. As the owner I'm confident that it will. The staff at Blue Sky takes pride in what we do because for us it's not just a business it's a home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

We have stayed here about 5 times in the past 2 years. We always got room #1 so I cant only speak about that one.

It was never dirty....older.....yes....but never dirty at all. Bathroom always clean.

U do have to go outside to get the wifi but it isnt a big deal.

For the price, we have no complaints. The young man that is always working there must be the owner and he was always kind to us.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Sky Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Sky Motel

Address: 2585 Biglerville Rd., Gettysburg, PA 17325
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 29 Hotels in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Blue Sky Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visiting Gettysburg? Why pay the big prices to the big corporate chains with their CEOs and CFOs? You’ll love our nifty, cozy-comfy rooms and friendly, helpful personal service. We offer pleasant country atmosphere only 6 minutes driving slowly from Lincoln Square. Our swimming pool, picnic and play areas offer fun and relaxation for the entire family. Or, retreat to the sofa in one of our spacious family units and curl up to your favorite book or TV show. Enjoy the best of both worlds while visiting the Gettysburg Battlefield and nearby attractions. We are pet friendly and offer 4 acres of land for you to enjoy with your critters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Blue Sky Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Sky Hotel
Blue Sky Gettysburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Sky Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.