We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A slice of life in town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shriver House Museum

Shriver House Museum
309 Baltimore St., Gettysburg, PA 17325
+1 717-337-2800
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 36 Attractions in Gettysburg
Type: Historic Sites, History Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: More than 3 million soldiers fought in the Civil War. Every soldier, north and south, has a story. The Shriver House Museum tells the story of one of those soldiers - George Washington Shriver. To walk through the home of George and Hettie Shriver today is a step back in time. The Shrivers' story unfolds as you walk through the family's authentically restored 1860 home with guides dressed in period attire to learn about their lives before, during and after the Civil War. A self-guided tour describes the 1860s neighbors and highlights the differences in the Shrivers' property from 1860 to today.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Naperville, Illinois
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“A slice of life in town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

This house really brought home what the people who lived in Gettysburg went through during the battle. The guide really related the story of the family who lived in the house that was amazing. It would be difficult, if not impossible, for a handicapped person to handle this place. The fact that the wife survived and carried on is an amazing one. The attic with its snipers nest and the basement with the "field hospital" and tavern were the most interesting parts of the tour for us.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    249
    76
    20
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Herndon, Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very informative.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

This is one of the Museum tours we took while in Gettysburg. This one was very interesting and informative. The guide was very good(kept our attention) and I learned quite a bit. I would definitely recommend this to anyone visiting Gettysburg.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“INTERESTING TOUR”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We enjoyed the tour and gift shop. There is a tour of the attic with a snipers bullet still intact. This tour is with a guide that has a lot of information regarding the home. The admittance fee is low and worth every cent.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st louis
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“terrific period set up”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

If you want to see how it was to live in the period and experience some of the battle and how it affected the lives of those living in Gettysburg...this is a must....

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Decatur
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

This September we visited Gettysburg for the 3rd time. Each time we visited we attended the Shriver House with different family or friends, so each time we just have to share the experience with new people. This time (the 3rd) was no exception and added new information and our guide was the best we ever had. If you visit, this is one place you do not want to miss. If puts you in the lives of a family, and a little of what they would have experienced those 3 days during that trying time of our American history 150 years ago.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shriver House Museum also viewed

 

Been to Shriver House Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shriver House Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.