We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hunt's Battlefield Fries & Cafe'

Hunt's Battlefield Fries & Cafe'
61 Steinwehr Ave, Gettysburg, PA 17325-2811
+1 717-334-4787
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Takeout
Description: THE BUILDING THAT HUNT'S BATTLEFIELD FRIES AND CAFE' IS IN, IS AN OLD HOUSE THAT FAMILYS ONCE LIVED IN. THE HOUSE AT 61 STEINWEHR AVE WAS NOT HERE YET DURING THE CIVIL WAR BATTLE OF GETTYSBURG, BUT WAS BUILD ABOUT 1900, YES IT IS SMALL INSIDE, BUT WE MAKE GREAT USE OF THE SPACE.
Brandenburg, Kentucky
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We ate here twice on this trip, the food was excellent both times we had cheese steak sandwiches and cheese fries. As I said the food was always great, but the second time we ate here the staff was not as nice and attentive.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    393
    152
    32
    9
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't miss”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Even though the dining area was small the food was great and portions huge. Owners were extremely friendly, wouldn't have thought about eating here except it was highly recommended by front desk at our hotel.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
70 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Delicious burger in an eclectic little spot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

After a long morning walking around the town of Gettysburg, we happened on Hunt's when it was time for lunch. The staff could not have been friendlier. One of the workers had a "civil war descendant" shirt on and he was happy to tell us about his ancestor. The burger was delicious and the fries were amazing!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Food was good, liked the ambience...warm, small town, laid back and friendly. Owner came over and talked to us too, the waitress was a sweetheart, my daughters loved her...talked about volleyball with her. Had a cheesesteak sub that left me speechless because my mouth was constantly full!...I am getting hungry just thinking of it. I have saved this place to return if in the area. You will not regret it.

Will add photos later.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malvern, Pa
Level Contributor
138 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“What a nice surprise - fries are very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

Four of us had an early lunch here on Sunday. September 22nd.

I ordered the chicken cheesesteak, my husband ordered the cheesesteak, our friends ordered the cheeseburger and everyone ordered the fries.

We all thought the fries were really very good. My chicken cheesesteak was very good and I would order that again.

Decent inexpensive place for a quick bite.

Oh FYI - we do not drink soda and we usually order fresh brewed unsweetened ice tea. The fresh brewed tea is just ok.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hunt's Battlefield Fries & Cafe' also viewed

 

Been to Hunt's Battlefield Fries & Cafe'? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hunt's Battlefield Fries & Cafe', register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.