We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hunt's Battlefield Fries & Cafe'

Hunt's Battlefield Fries & Cafe'
61 Steinwehr Ave, Gettysburg, PA 17325-2811
+1 717-334-4787
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 121 Restaurants in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Description: THE BUILDING THAT HUNT'S BATTLEFIELD FRIES AND CAFE' IS IN, IS AN OLD HOUSE THAT FAMILYS ONCE LIVED IN. THE HOUSE AT 61 STEINWEHR AVE WAS NOT HERE YET DURING THE CIVIL WAR BATTLE OF GETTYSBURG, BUT WAS BUILD ABOUT 1900, YES IT IS SMALL INSIDE, BUT WE MAKE GREAT USE OF THE SPACE.
Brandenburg, Kentucky
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We ate here twice on this trip, the food was excellent both times we had cheese steak sandwiches and cheese fries. As I said the food was always great, but the second time we ate here the staff was not as nice and attentive.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chris40181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't miss”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Even though the dining area was small the food was great and portions huge. Owners were extremely friendly, wouldn't have thought about eating here except it was highly recommended by front desk at our hotel.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ray T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
75 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Delicious burger in an eclectic little spot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

After a long morning walking around the town of Gettysburg, we happened on Hunt's when it was time for lunch. The staff could not have been friendlier. One of the workers had a "civil war descendant" shirt on and he was happy to tell us about his ancestor. The burger was delicious and the fries were amazing!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lrwolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Food was good, liked the ambience...warm, small town, laid back and friendly. Owner came over and talked to us too, the waitress was a sweetheart, my daughters loved her...talked about volleyball with her. Had a cheesesteak sub that left me speechless because my mouth was constantly full!...I am getting hungry just thinking of it. I have saved this place to return if in the area. You will not regret it.

Will add photos later.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank YRaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malvern, Pa
Level Contributor
155 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“What a nice surprise - fries are very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

Four of us had an early lunch here on Sunday. September 22nd.

I ordered the chicken cheesesteak, my husband ordered the cheesesteak, our friends ordered the cheeseburger and everyone ordered the fries.

We all thought the fries were really very good. My chicken cheesesteak was very good and I would order that again.

Decent inexpensive place for a quick bite.

Oh FYI - we do not drink soda and we usually order fresh brewed unsweetened ice tea. The fresh brewed tea is just ok.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Curiouspb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hunt's Battlefield Fries & Cafe' also viewed

 

Been to Hunt's Battlefield Fries & Cafe'? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing