We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bustling place with delightful service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hunt's Battlefield Fries & Cafe'

Hunt's Battlefield Fries & Cafe'
61 Steinwehr Ave, Gettysburg, PA 17325-2811
(717) 334-4787
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 115 Restaurants in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Takeout
Description: THE BUILDING THAT HUNT'S BATTLEFIELD FRIES AND CAFE' IS IN, IS AN OLD HOUSE THAT FAMILYS ONCE LIVED IN. THE HOUSE AT 61 STEINWEHR AVE WAS NOT HERE YET DURING THE CIVIL WAR BATTLE OF GETTYSBURG, BUT WAS BUILD ABOUT 1900, YES IT IS SMALL INSIDE, BUT WE MAKE GREAT USE OF THE SPACE.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A bustling place with delightful service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

The staff here are delightful as can be. The food came out promptly and piping hot. I went in at 3 o'clock in the afternoon and there were still people waiting for tables. I cannot say enough good things about this place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    370
    141
    29
    10
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Don't pass this place up”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

We are here about 430 on a Thursday afternoon. We were the only people here so we were able to get a table easily. I had my first cheesesteak sub ever here. I'm not very adventurous with my food so I just had steak and American cheese. It was delicious! The meat was seasoned perfectly.
Fries were good too. I got the fresh squeezed lemonade...it was perfect...not too sweet.
Lots to look at here too. My kids loved looking at all the stuff they had here. They also have green mountain coffee by the cup and by the bag. And they have mallow cups! And other candy too.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Just Don’t Get All the Hype...!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

After reading all the glowing reviews on Trip Advisor, I told our friends that this place looked like a ‘must-do’ in Gettysburg for lunch. We were staying at the Brickhouse Inn, which was a short 5 minute walk away. When we arrived, I was taken aback by the appearance of this place as it looked more like an old General Store than a restaurant. It was about 2pm, so we were able to get a table right away. The menu had a nice selection of sandwiches and burgers and their prices were reasonable. The service we received was very good, but I felt the food was just average and the atmosphere left a lot to be desired. I suppose if you like the experience of eating in the middle of a general store, this place might excite you, but I wish we had eaten somewhere else. This may be where the locals eat, but I just don’t get all the hype they’re getting and can only rate them “Average”.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Haven
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

The food was outstanding and loved this little place. I recomend going here for lunch on your trip to Gettysberg.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mays Landing, New Jersey
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Some of the Best French Fries I Have Ever Had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

My wife and I stopped in here late June for a late lunch. It was a rainy Friday and past the rush so we have most of the place to ourselves. The place is cramped and I can imagine what it is like when crowded and there also seems to be a lot of clutter where more people could sit. I had a cheese steak and french fries. The cheese steak was really good but the real star of the show were the fries. Second only to Dave's Fresh Fries (Blue Building, Englishtown Flee Market, Englishtown, NJ). They were fresh and cooker perfectly and served with a spray bottle of vinegar (the spray bottle was a neat idea). The owner happened to be there and took time to speak with each customer and get us all refills on our drinks.

All in all, if you can get in, it definitely worth it!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hunt's Battlefield Fries & Cafe' also viewed

 

Been to Hunt's Battlefield Fries & Cafe'? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hunt's Battlefield Fries & Cafe', register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.