We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just love Hunt's!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hunt's Battlefield Fries & Cafe'

Hunt's Battlefield Fries & Cafe'
61 Steinwehr Ave, Gettysburg, PA 17325-2811
(717) 334-4787
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 115 Restaurants in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Dessert, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Takeout
Description: THE BUILDING THAT HUNT'S BATTLEFIELD FRIES AND CAFE' IS IN, IS AN OLD HOUSE THAT FAMILYS ONCE LIVED IN. THE HOUSE AT 61 STEINWEHR AVE WAS NOT HERE YET DURING THE CIVIL WAR BATTLE OF GETTYSBURG, BUT WAS BUILD ABOUT 1900, YES IT IS SMALL INSIDE, BUT WE MAKE GREAT USE OF THE SPACE.
PY,NY
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Just love Hunt's!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Ate at Hunt's all 4 days while we were in Gettysburg for Remembrance Day Weekend. The food was hot and delicious...as always. I knew it would be super busy, so we ordered ahead or waited till after the lunch crowd had gone. We enjoyed everything we ordered...the fries and cheesesteak are the best. I love the Green Mountain coffee...a great way to start your busy day. The prices are very reasonable. We ordered some food to take home. Scott, Donna and the crew are polite and fun to sit and chat with. We get a kick out of the decor...even bought a sign as a gift! I say give Hunt's a try.
Remember it's a small place and becoming more popular...so be prepared to wait a few minutes for a table or for your food- but it's so worth it!!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    369
    141
    29
    10
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
woodbridge
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Best food in town and you get alot for your money! Highly recommend the fries and a burger!! Outstanding owners, very friendly!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“The yummiest cheesesteaks!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I grew up in Philadelphia and I LOVE Hunt's cheesesteaks!! The best! The cheesesteaks are hot and most addicting! Great prices as well.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Don't let this place fool you...great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I read the great reviews and wanted to try it for myself. The place is very small so it's first come, first serve, but despite the cramped space, the food is great. I ordered a beef cheesesteak, my daughter had chicken cheesesteak, and my vegetarian son (we were worried there wouldn't be anything on the menu for him) ordered the veggie burger. The food was awesome and I would definitely go back again!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinez, California
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“no ambiance, awesome food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

When I first walked into this place, I was like "Wow, hats!" I reluctantly sat down and ordered the Philly Cheesesteak (Beef and Chicken). I was a bit worried. Had all those people on Tripadvisor that had given this place a thumbs up gotten it wrong? No. It was amazing. The Cheesesteak was incredible. I was so bummed it was over. The Fries are also quite good, but the Cheesesteak was better. Believe it or not, the ingredients are top notch, fresh and local. I had a chance to chat with the owner. He is a history book. Super helpful concerning the battlefield and also talked food awhile. Very knowledgeable. Next time I go to Gettysburg, I'm going here for dinner again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hunt's Battlefield Fries & Cafe' also viewed

 

Been to Hunt's Battlefield Fries & Cafe'? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hunt's Battlefield Fries & Cafe', register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.