We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, great cheesesteaks.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hunt's Battlefield Fries & Cafe'

Hunt's Battlefield Fries & Cafe'
61 Steinwehr Ave, Gettysburg, PA 17325-2811
(717) 334-4787
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 113 Restaurants in Gettysburg
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: THE BUILDING THAT HUNT'S BATTLEFIELD FRIES AND CAFE' IS IN, IS AN OLD HOUSE THAT FAMILYS ONCE LIVED IN. THE HOUSE AT 61 STEINWEHR AVE WAS NOT HERE YET DURING THE CIVIL WAR BATTLE OF GETTYSBURG, BUT WAS BUILD ABOUT 1900, YES IT IS SMALL INSIDE, BUT WE MAKE GREAT USE OF THE SPACE.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good value, great cheesesteaks.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

A small dining area. Cheesesteaks are perfect. Huge portions. Nice people that work there.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    349
    132
    27
    9
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glendale, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent cheese steak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

My husband and I visited this restaurant for lunch and we were so happy we did. A little funky and unique inside (a LOT going on!) but the food was very good. My husband and I shared a beef cheese steak sandwich-- which my husband states was the best he ever had. Very fresh meat and veggies. Staff was very nice and decor was entertaining. Would definitely go back.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Still Dreaming of the Cheesesteaks at Hunt's Battlefield Cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

Honestly, Im still dreaming of their cheesesteaks. The BEST we have ever had!

This very small little nook of a restaurant is located on Steinwehr Avenue. You dont even know its a restaurant since we have been to Gettysburg several times!
There are about 6 tables with basic chairs. It has all types of memorabalia on the walls.
We are not about the "atmosphere" but we ARE all about the food. Once again, THE BEST cheesesteaks Ever....in my opinion of course.
The owners made us feel welcome and it was a delight to eat there. I have read other reviews and the snobs that write about the atmosphere should keep walking down the street and pay $50 at one of the high end places.
We will stick with this place......totally happy to ruin my diet with the GREAT food. Love it and will go back every time we are there!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Still great cheese steaks!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

Waited two years to come back and the cheese steaks were just as good as I remember! Prices have risen just slightly but still on the cheaper side and the portions are still big! Great place to get a fast meal!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Best Cheesesteak in Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

I had heard for a while that Hunt's had the best cheesesteak in town. It was true. Everything is great from the steak, to the bread, to the cheese. The staff is great too--very nice and friendly. I love the interior of the shop. Also, they have a large selection of craft sodas that are great to try. I end up getting a different one every time.

  • Visited April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hunt's Battlefield Fries & Cafe' also viewed

 

Been to Hunt's Battlefield Fries & Cafe'? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hunt's Battlefield Fries & Cafe', register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.