We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Hoss's I've Ever Been To” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hoss's Steak & Sea House

Hoss's Steak & Sea House
1140 York Rd, Gettysburg, PA 17325-7509
717-337-2961
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 101 Restaurants in Gettysburg
Price range: $6 - $29
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Description: Hoss’s Steak and Sea House is a family restaurant featuring fresh-cut steaks, seafood, and tender chicken entrees…all cooked to order!Enjoy our fresh and wholesome Soup & Salad Bar with homemade soups, just-baked breads, fresh fruits, delicious desserts, and soft-serve ice cream. We feature a fun menu for kids and offer family-style banquets in our comfortable banquet rooms
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Worst Hoss's I've Ever Been To”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Where to begin? For one thing, it was pretty dirty in this place. The restrooms were a mess, the salad bar had food all over it, only incidentally, it seemed, to be in the actual slots on the bar for it.

The salad bar itself had a sparse selection compared to most Hoss's I've been to. Most of the food on it was dried out as well. I didn't get any fruit, because it looked dessicated. They only replaced the garlic bread once in the hour and a half I was there (right around the time I left), which I got the last slice when I first got there.

The water for my party was never refilled. Got to hear all about the waitress's personal problems as they walked by and complained to each other.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian C, Social Media Manager at Hoss's Steak & Sea House, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thank you for submitting your review of our Gettysburg location. We are very sorry to hear your service was less than enjoyable. We have brought this to the attention of this stores managers. The food should be kept up and stocked fresh, waters refilled, and the service should be at the utmost professionalism that Hoss's guests have come to know. This is unacceptable and we sincerely apologize. We assure you this is not our business's standard. If there is ever an issue you feel should be brought attention to in our stores, please to not hesitate to ask to speak to a manager. Please come and revisit us in the near future.
Thank you again for your review and bringing this to our attention. We sincerely hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    37
    40
    9
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
laporte mn
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very busy place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Great food and friendly staff. The salad bar is well stocked and the steak was very tender. Our server was attentive to our needs especially our coffee cups.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville IL.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Family vacation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

I was expecting a little more maybe along the lines of a Ponderosa. Salad bar has lettuce and toppings with a couple of soups available and dessert. No hot meats, vegetables or potato dishes. Not impressed with the soups. I had the chicken breast with stuffing and the chicken was way over done. Mixed feeling on the steaks. 2 were very happy and one ate half and gave the rest to another family member. I would not go back but one of the 3 families involved said they would return.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian C, Social Media Manager at Hoss's Steak & Sea House, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Thank you for reviewing our Gettysburg location. Unlike other similar restaurants, we are not much considered a "buffet" and do not typically serve hot meals on our salad bar. At Hoss's we have meal entrees, much like a steakhouse, and rather than pay extra for your side salad, soup, appetizer or dessert, we offer all of that for FREE when you buy an entree. Our Famous Soup and Salad Bar has a very large selection of items on it, much larger than competitors and we keep it fresh on a constant basis. Quality is very important to us. We're sorry to hear your chicken was overdone. If ever a problem arises, do not hesitate to contact a manager. They will make sure you get the best quality meal.
Thank you for your time to review us, and we truly hope you give us another chance. We would love to show you how Hossome we can be the way so very many of our valued guests have known us to be!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“It Was Ok”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

We went here on the spur of the moment. We had never been to one. You order your meal and drink and pay for it before you get seated. I ordered a baked potato, didn't realize that it was not a loaded potato. Loaded costs more. Have to ask for it specifically. The steak and shrimp were pretty good. The steak was cooked to order. Service was ok. We got seated next to the fake fireplace. Would have liked a real one. All in all, this is an ok restaurant.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Food tastes old”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Have had more than one bad experience here. The last was just this past week. My husband likes buffets, so wanted to try here again despite a previous bad experience. Not really surprised that this did not improve our impression of this establishment. I only had lettuce, cucumbers and broccoli from the salad bar and all of it tasted very old. The bread was dry and had no taste. Ordered steak tips and was shocked that for $ 12.99, all that was on the plate was 6 tiny pieces of meat. The steak wasn't bad, but not much flavor. Third strike was the dessert buffet .. It will be a long, long, long time before my husband can convince me to try here again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian C, Social Media Manager at Hoss's Steak & Sea House, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Thank you for taking time to review our Gettysburg location. We are sorry you felt the salad bar was not fresh but we assure you, there are strict procedures that every Hoss's follows to ensure the freshest, cleanest, best salad bar in the industry. We pay extreme attention to the upkeep of our salad bar, documenting every half hour the freshness of our product. We're also sorry to hear you were unsatisfied with the value of the tips. At Hoss's, we offer our famous all-you-can-eat Soup and Salad bar for free with all our entrees. We feel this is an excellent value to all of our guests. Please let us know what it is exactly about our dessert bar you were unsatisfied with. We understand there is always room for improvement, and are open to suggestions. Our dessert bar is full of fresh fruits, sugar free and low fat healthy snacks, pies, cakes, brownies, frozen yogurt along with many many toppings, etc. and if there was something wrong with any of our items we would like to know. Please email us at comments@hosscorp.com to contact our customer service.
We thank you for reviewing our store and sincerely would like to see you return. Thank you for bringing these issues to our attention. We always look to provide the best service and quality to all of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hoss's Steak & Sea House also viewed

 

Been to Hoss's Steak & Sea House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hoss's Steak & Sea House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.