We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hoss's Steak & Sea House

Hoss's Steak & Sea House
1140 York Rd, Gettysburg, PA 17325-7509
717-337-2961
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #52 of 115 Restaurants in Gettysburg
Price range: $6 - $29
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Description: Hoss’s Steak and Sea House is a family restaurant featuring fresh-cut steaks, seafood, and tender chicken entrees…all cooked to order!Enjoy our fresh and wholesome Soup & Salad Bar with homemade soups, just-baked breads, fresh fruits, delicious desserts, and soft-serve ice cream. We feature a fun menu for kids and offer family-style banquets in our comfortable banquet rooms
Lorain, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

The food was good with a decent selection. Service was ok also. If there was a negative, it would be with the salad- desert bar. It was tucked away in a small room away from most tables. Sometimes difficult to get your selection

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missy H, Social Media at Hoss's Steak & Sea House, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Hoss's in Gettysburg. We appreciate your input and your comments will be passed along to the general manager in Gettysburg. We hope that in the near future you will again dine at one of our 35 Hoss's locations and enjoy our wide variety of entrees, soups, salad and desserts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    37
    40
    9
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Georgetown, Kentucky
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Decent Steakhouse Fare with Gluten-Free Options”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Never having been to a Hoss's before, we weren't prepared for their unusual ordering process (order from a wall menu like fast food, then be taken to your seats by the hostess) but it was easy enough to grasp. The dining areas is quite spacious with a nice rustic ambiance accentuated with some some historic photos of the local area. A nice touch. The wait staff during our visit was friendly and attentive. I ordered the fried shrimp which, as a point of reference, was on par to what you'd find at other steakhouse chains such as Ponderosa. Using the restaurant's gluten-free dining guide, my wife ordered a steak and made use of the salad bar. She was very pleased with the taste and quality of her meal. We'll definitely be back the next time that we're in the area.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missy H, social media at Hoss's Steak & Sea House, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for choosing Hoss's as your dining destination. We were excited to hear that you enjoyed our wide variety of salad bar and gluten free offerings. We look forward to serving you again when you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Budget Family Style Dining”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My husband and I visited on 4th of July weeknd during the 150th Anniversay. I was expecting a steak restaurant and was disappointed to find a budget type order at the register/salad bar type place. The food was just ok. The cheesecake on the dessert buffet was Jello No Bake. For almost $50 we could have gone somewhere much nicer and had much better food. I won't be going back. Also for 4th of July weekend there were very few people there although there were over 100,000 people in town for the 150th festivities.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missy H, Social Media Director at Hoss's Steak & Sea House, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our Gettysburg location. We are sorry that you were not happy with your last dining experience. Your feedback will be forwarded to the general manager. Your feedback is appreciated and we hope you choose Hoss's again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allegany, New York
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Great Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

The staff was very friendly and attentive, the food was good, big selection and the restaurant was clean. Prices were very reasonable.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missy H, Social Media at Hoss's Steak & Sea House, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for letting Hoss's know that your dining experience was pleasant at our location in Gettysburg. We strive to make every diner's visit an pleasurable one. We hope that you will dine with us again in the near future and enjoy our Hosspitality!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miller Place, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good salad bar”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Fresh salad bar with a good variety of items. Good soups. Dessert buffet was somewhat minimal. Burgers are advertised as being made fresh on premises and indeed the burgers i and my son had were tasty, if a bit over cooked. All the other diners ordered stuffed chicken or steak. They all felt they were pre-prepared and brought in to be warmed and served. They were dry and lacked flavor. Considering what else was available in the area, this is probably better than most.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missy H, Public relations at Hoss's Steak & Sea House, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
We are happy to hear from you that you enjoyed the salad bar and burgers. Our chicken and steaks are prepared to order and we apologize that this product was dry and lacking in flavor. We will share with our cooks in efforts to make improvements for future visitors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hoss's Steak & Sea House also viewed

 

Been to Hoss's Steak & Sea House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hoss's Steak & Sea House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.