We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great breakfast!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Herr Ridge Restaurant

Inn at Herr Ridge Restaurant
900 Chambersburg Rd, Gettysburg, PA 17325-3312
+1 717-334-4332
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Inn at Herr Ridge Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #14 of 115 Restaurants in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $24 - $36
Cuisines: French, Eclectic, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Herr's Ridge Rd.
Galion, Ohio
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A great breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We were leaving town, saw their sign, and decided we needed breakfast. A lovely place, one that I may come back to soon. An excellent breakfast with friendly people. I will definitely be eating here again!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    45
    25
    13
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plainview, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Romantic & delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Saw the restaurant on trip advisor and seemed a good choice from the tavern atmospheres of the other local
Restaurants.
We had a great meal, wonderful personalized service. Highly recommend!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herrtav, Manager at Inn at Herr Ridge Restaurant, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thanks so much for your kind words describing your dining experience here at The Inn. We are glad you enjoyed your dinner and appreciated your personal service. Our staff works very hard to ensure each guest has a memorable evening. Please be our guests again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“The only really excellent restaurant in Gettysburg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Gettsyburg gets mass tourism, most of whom are budget minded. If you want a low cost, chain restaurantm you are overwhelmed with choices. If you want an historic inn, with fine food and wine, you have less than a handful of choices. By far this is the best,. Lovely inn, with various rooms (so no big, noisy dining room but rather a selection of different small to moderate sized rooms). Lovely decor, which varies by room, but always tasteful and appropriately historic. The menu is excellent and there is a fine selection of wines at reaosnable prices. Also,much of the food i swlocally sourced. This restaurant would be considered a fine one in places like New Hope, PA. Finally, the restaurant was very busy the evening we were there, and there was some delay in seating us and in getting our main course to us. It is to the restaurant's credit that this was noted, that we were politely informed with an apology and that the owner/manager himself came over at the end to say that they regretted the delay. In many restaurants, this would be ignored and the diner would leave annoyed. How the staff handled this situation demonstrates the professionalism of this restaurant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herrtav, Manager at Inn at Herr Ridge Restaurant, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you very much for your detailed review. We are delighted you enjoyed not only your food, but also our dining room decor and wine selection. Please let me apologize again for the delay of your seating and main course. We strive to seat all of our guests in a timely manner and when we fall short of that, we are truly sorry. We hope you will come and dine with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Fabulous food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

This is a wonderful restaurant that is a surprise as it is located in a B&B . The food is locally sourced and carefully prepared. Cody the sous chef, was available to answer questions about the menu and offer suggestions. Every bite was delicious.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herrtav, Manager at Inn at Herr Ridge Restaurant, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review concerning your dinner at The Inn. Thank you also, for complimenting our sous-chef, Cody. He works very hard to ensure each guest has a memorable dining experience. Please come and be our guests again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

The food was terrific, the place was charming, and our server was great. Unusual to find such upscale food, locally sourced in the area.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herrtav, Manager at Inn at Herr Ridge Restaurant, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you so much for your very succinct review concerning your dinner here at The Inn. We are pleased that you found your entire experience a pleasant one. We hope you will be our guests again the next time you are in Gettysburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Inn at Herr Ridge Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Inn at Herr Ridge Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Herr Ridge Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.