We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take a step back in time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dobbin House Tavern

Dobbin House Tavern
89 Steinwehr Ave, Gettysburg, PA 17325-2811
717-334-2100
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 113 Restaurants in Gettysburg
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Doylestown, Pennsylvania, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Take a step back in time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Restaurant is in the basement...quaint...candle lit, waitresses dressed in character costumes. Limited beer on draft. Tables are crammed together but you soon fforget it once you're seated. Had the deli sandwich that was half smoked ham and half turkey, BF had the roast beef dip. Our meals were excellent. Service was a little slow.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,094 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,104
    597
    271
    78
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington, West Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“lunch at Dobbin House”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

My daughter and I had lunch here and really enjoyed it. The room was candlelit and servers were in civil war era costume. I had the crab cake sandwich and it was delicious. My daughter had roast beef sandwich, also very good. It was used on the underground railroad and they have very interesting displays about that. Would like to go back for dinner sometime.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrollton, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“grat food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

can't say enough about the service or the food. Soup, main course dessert and a bottle of wine. great meal and our waitress was fantastic

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brick, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Surprise vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

The Dobbin House offers both tavern and restaurant seating. We chose the restaurant. The food was amazing. The service was a let-down. The hostess was great. She was friendly and welcoming. We were running late for our reservation due to a downpour, but she assured us that there was no issue and we were shown to our table. To start, our server was great. She promptly greeted us, explained the menu and the specials and even promised to take our picture at some point. It went downhill from there. As each of the other 2 tables near us were seated, she became less attentive to us while turning on the charm for the newcomers. We had finished our drinks before our entrees were served, but she never asked if we wanted another or stuck around long enough to flag down. Needless to say, we never got our picture, but that is neither here nor there. Perhaps she just had too many tables at once, but regardless, the service left us feeling disappointed, especially considering the price of the meal.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eaton, Ohio
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“I wanted this to be 5 stars but...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

We actually went to the tavern downstairs, which was more reasonably priced. It was interesting. The waitstaff was dressed in period clothing and it had an authentic tavern feel. It was dimly lit, and it could have been romantic. I had the split roasted chicken, and the dark meat was wonderful, but the white meat was dry. The seasoning on it was excellent though. I started with the dark meat and thought it was the most wonderful roasted chicken I ever had...then I got to the white meat and was a bit disappointed. They had an excellent ranch dressing. My husband thought the burger was good. The down side was the service. The waiter could/would not keep our glasses filled. Any request took forever to be taken care of. We saw the waiter only a few times and it was very long periods of time before we would see him again. So, the service (and dry white meat) knocked this down to a 4 star review.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dobbin House Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Dobbin House Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dobbin House Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.