We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Historic but just OK food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dobbin House Tavern

Dobbin House Tavern
89 Steinwehr Ave, Gettysburg, PA 17325-2811
717-334-2100
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 101 Restaurants in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Dessert, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Waynesville, Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very Historic but just OK food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

The Dobbin House Tavern is very historic and something that should be experienced in Gettysburg but the food was good but nothing outstanding.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,204
    638
    282
    81
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wallingford, Connecticut
1 review
“Lunch was outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

My wife and I stopped for lunch and had a great time! I was surprised how reasonable the price was and the food was excellent. The waitresses were very pleasant. Definitely will be back our next time we visit!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great meal in a historic spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We were in town over Easter weekend this year, and were looking for a quick place to grab a bite. This place came recommended by our B&B, and although upstairs can be quite busy, downstairs is less so which was key because we hadn't made reservations. It's in a historic house that actually predates the town of Gettysburg (1700s), and the fare, decor and food feel like a step back in time. Candles on each old wooden table and booth, a large old wooden bar -- it all works well. The food was stellar as well, and the service spot on. Reasonable pricing, too. Check it out for a great experience.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good place for lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We wen there with a tour of the Gettysburg battlefield. The lunch was very good, the innkeeper was very knowledgeable about the history of the tavern.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Food, Excellent Drinks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We visited Dobbin House Tavern twice during our recent stay to Gettysburg. Our initial visit was decided on because they had cornered off part of the parking lot for outside seating and it was a beautiful day. We were very glad we did. Staff was attentive and talkative. Two recommendations when visiting.. try the Rum Bellies Vengeance, and the Onion Soup. Probably the best Onion Soup I have personally tasted in a restaurant.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dobbin House Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Dobbin House Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dobbin House Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.