We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neat location for a great dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dobbin House Tavern

Dobbin House Tavern
89 Steinwehr Ave, Gettysburg, PA 17325-2811
717-334-2100
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 115 Restaurants in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Neat location for a great dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

My husband, daughter (9), and I ate at the Dobbin House this week. The atmosphere was great, our waitress was wonderful, and the food was delicious. My husband and I both had steak and my daughter (not one to order from the kids menu) had shrimp stuffed with crab. Everything was wonderful. The breads and muffins that were served when we sat down were warm and delicious with the cream butter.
This restaurant is a bit pricey but we usually do one pricey dinner on vacation so this was it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,159
    616
    278
    79
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, Illinois
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Historic venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We try to eat lunch at the Dobbin House every time we are in town. The tavern is down in the basement; seating is limited and rather cramped; the lighting is by candlelight; food is great. Just love the old feel of the place. There is also a wonderful gift shop upstairs.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Make reservations to dine upstairs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Very good food but a bit pricey (about $30.oo per person) the staff dress in period clothing. It was worth paying extra for the atmosphere

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Cool place, good food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

After riding on a bus for 9 hours we were all very happy to have some food. Thankfully the Dobbin house had a very nice buffet setup for us with a whole lot of bacon & OJ. Plus to see the hidden areas where the slaves would hide is an added bonus.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Eating great food in a cellar!!!! Not what you might think.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Dobbin House offers fine dining, upstairs, or casual dining, in the tavern or cellar of the house. Dobbin House was recommended to us by complete strangers we met in the hotel who had tried it the night before. We went the casual route and ate in the Tavern "Cellar". Our waitress, Tammy, was dressed in periodic clothing and could not have been nicer. The atmosphere was fantastic and the food was well worth the price. If you go get the Baked Beef Onion Soup (name is close enough) it's fantastic!!!!! I got the roasted half chicken which was cooked just right and very tasty while the wife got the marinated chicken breast. I only got a small taste cause she kept it all to herself, very good. The history of this old house is very interesting to read about as well. Give this place a try if you go to Gettysburg.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dobbin House Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Dobbin House Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dobbin House Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.