We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool place, good food.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dobbin House Tavern

Dobbin House Tavern
89 Steinwehr Ave, Gettysburg, PA 17325-2811
717-334-2100
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 115 restaurants in Gettysburg
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Michigan
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Cool place, good food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

After riding on a bus for 9 hours we were all very happy to have some food. Thankfully the Dobbin house had a very nice buffet setup for us with a whole lot of bacon & OJ. Plus to see the hidden areas where the slaves would hide is an added bonus.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,766 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    918
    508
    235
    64
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Columbia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Eating great food in a cellar!!!! Not what you might think.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Dobbin House offers fine dining, upstairs, or casual dining, in the tavern or cellar of the house. Dobbin House was recommended to us by complete strangers we met in the hotel who had tried it the night before. We went the casual route and ate in the Tavern "Cellar". Our waitress, Tammy, was dressed in periodic clothing and could not have been nicer. The atmosphere was fantastic and the food was well worth the price. If you go get the Baked Beef Onion Soup (name is close enough) it's fantastic!!!!! I got the roasted half chicken which was cooked just right and very tasty while the wife got the marinated chicken breast. I only got a small taste cause she kept it all to herself, very good. The history of this old house is very interesting to read about as well. Give this place a try if you go to Gettysburg.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great historical meal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

Let me start by saying I have been to the Dobbin House probably 7 or more times on multiple trips to Gettysburg and it would have gotten a 5 star rating from me across the board had my most recent trip not been so bad. This last time, a beer, the soup of the day, and an entree set me back $45-I'd be somewhat ok with that if I weren't still hungry after the meal. I ordered the lobster stuffed shrimp and the Maryland crab soup. The soup was above average. The shrimp was terrific except that it was priced close to $25 and only came with 4 pieces-for that cost, I'd expect at least twice that. The ambience is nice, it is dark and quiet-a good place for a date. My real gripe is when our waittress brought out one check for a party of 4 (and never asked how the check would be split to begin dinner) and I asked if she could split the check, she looked at me like I had 12 heads and huffed as she went off to do that. It's really not a big deal. Then when she got back and I thanked her, she said nothing. Upon coming back to take our signed receipts she looked down at mine (and I'm assuming didn't like her tip amount) and snatched it up and left. She returned to rudely say that the math was wrong on one of the bills. Her demeanor TOTALLY changed after I asked for our checks to be split. She wasnt friendly or even approachable after that. She never thanked us as we left. My previous experience at the Dobbin House had been flawless, but this time I left very underwhelmed. What was my favorite restaurant in Gettysburg let me down big time. I understand our server may have had a bad night, but that coupled with an outrageous price didn't sit well with me-so much so that we had planned to have lunch there two days later for our final meal in Gettysburg and instead went to another restaurant. If you've never been, give it a shot, it is a good place with a lot of history and character to it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“VERY GOOD”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

very good authentic place. made me feel like i was there during the war times. the food was very good, service was excellent! just wish the lighting was a little brighter i could barely see my food. but i understand they were going for the atmosphere. i do however recommend eating inside instead of the outdoor area. they were slow and unorganized outside.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metamora, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous place- add it to your itinerary!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We went to the cellar at lunch time. The atmosphere is amazing, as is the food. Adding to the fun is a peak into the hiding place for slaves during Underground Railroad times. This is a spot I will return to if I ever get back to Gettysburg.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dobbin House Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dobbin House Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.