We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good meal in a comfortable restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mamma Ventura Restaurant

Mamma Ventura Restaurant
13 Chambersburg St, Gettysburg, PA 17325-1102
717-334-5548
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #49 of 99 Restaurants in Gettysburg
Price range: $0 - $12
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Virginia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good meal in a comfortable restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

Many of the top "restaurants" here are actually ice cream parlors, bakeries, and such - so it was great to find Mamma Ventura's. After a day of sightseeing, we wanted a place to relax with a good meal. The food was quite good, the service fast and friendly, and the restaurant clean and comfortable. If you're looking for fine dining, this isn't your place. But if you want a relaxing meal, Mamma's is a great choice.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    45
    29
    13
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“never again.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

I don't have any complaints about the food seeing as I've never sampled anything off the menu. however, I will say that last night I had some of the worst bar tending service. I mean, this guy was completely ignorant. I get it, it's a bar, it's not gonna be the happiest place; but after giving the bar tendor a pretty pleasing compliment, I thought, he proceeded to tell me he'd rather I shut up and not say anything. what happened to customer service as common courtesy?

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fast food Italian”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Nothing authentic about this place. The staff was friendly but the food was well below average. The pasta was undercooked, the fish was "fishy," and the sauce not good at all. This was an unfortunate dining experience.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian food in an old time setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Our first night in Gettysburg was a Sunday. We were walking around downtown, checking out all the offerings and happened upon Mamma Ventura. Walking into the restaurant it had that authentic feel of a true Italian restaurant. We sat in the back room aside of the large fish tank.
The pasta tasted homemade, the veal was tender and tasty and the sauce was outstanding. Price are reasonable and the service was very good. I recommend this place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Don't miss this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

THE best italian food you'll have! Very nice restaurant with reasonable prices. Right off of the town square.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mamma Ventura Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Mamma Ventura Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mamma Ventura Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.