We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good Italian comfort food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mamma Ventura Restaurant

Mamma Ventura Restaurant
13 Chambersburg St, Gettysburg, PA 17325-1102
717-334-5548
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #50 of 113 Restaurants in Gettysburg
Price range: $0 - $12
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Very good Italian comfort food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

After a day touring Gettysburg, it is nice to have dinner in a quiet restaurant with very good food. Chose the restaurant because it was off the main drag and there was not a long wait. Others were drawn to noisy pubs. I chose the promise of good Italian food. In and my friends were not disappointed. The staff was friendly. The pasta carbonara was delightful. Friend reported that their veal dishes were also quite good.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    39
    24
    13
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great Italian Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Have nothing bad to say about our experience at this restaurant other than they were out of prosciutto. However, the antipasto with the wonderful mozzarella cheese and tomatoes was fantastic. Our salads were fresh and the dressing delicious. Same for the entrees - simply well prepared, authentic and tasty. Desserts were good but this is the only item where one of us was a little disappointed. The gelato was great. The tiramisu however was only average. However, I will not hesitate to go back the next time I am in Gettysburg.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very good food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We arrived around 5 p.m. and beat the supper crowd. Appears to be non-smoking establishment. I ordered spaghetti with oil and garlic - lots of garlic came with my meal! So, that's what I ordered. It was superb. I also requested a meatball on the side - it was HUGE, and I loved it! My husband's meal was delicious. We left too full for dessert.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Bad, bad, bad!!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Honestly, this was the worst food I ever ate. Although I was very hungry, I really could not eat my dinner. I felt nauseous the entire evening from the little food I did eat. Their red sauce was pure tomato paste and it was disgusting. Even the wine was awful. Despite the low prices, I felt robbed because of the awful food. In addition, the service was very slow with a waitress who clearly wanted to be somewhere else. After my first bite, I did too!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen County, NJ
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Night of Apologies”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I visited Mamma Ventura's during Gettysburg's busy battle anniversary week. Like all restaurants in town, it was crowded and there was a wait. But customers coming out were not happy and neither was I and neither were the tables all about me. The hostess was a bit frazzled by the incoming hungry guests and left her post often to do whatever, while confused guests coming in started signing themselves in to the wait list which annoyed her each time she returned. The waitress was beyond frazzled and appeared ready to have a nervous breakdown. Each and every table around me, including myself, had orders that were delivered wrong which made other table waits even longer. All around, it should have been a night and round of apologies to customers except no "I'm sorry" was ever heard. And the food was mediocre at best when it finally did arrive correctly. For a restaurant that has been in Gettysburg as long as Mamma Ventura's has, the crowds that come in to town should not be a surprise and they should double up their staff - hostessing, waitresses, and cooks to accommodate the crowds - and keep their waitress from nearly suffering a heart attack not just from being busy but by dealing with the disgruntled guests. This used to be my favorite restaurant in town and I'd visit it each day while I was in town, this time one visit was enough and I will think twice about returning again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mamma Ventura Restaurant also viewed

 
Gettysburg, PA
 

Been to Mamma Ventura Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mamma Ventura Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.