We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mamma Ventura Restaurant

Mamma Ventura Restaurant
13 Chambersburg St, Gettysburg, PA 17325-1102
717-334-5548
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #50 of 113 Restaurants in Gettysburg
Price range: $0 - $12
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Ormond Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We traveled to gettysburg a few weeks ago and were looking for a resaurant that offered some good Italian food.While we were staying at our hotel,our friend went on the internet to see if she could find such a one.Find she did.A charming restaurant,with an unassuming look from the outside.Being of Italian decent our friends have expienced some good Italian food.The salad was cold and fresh,the pasta beautifully cooked and the servce was perfect.The owner made an apperence and thanked us for our visiting his restaurant.It made our visit to Gettysburg very pleasant.Make a point of trying this place.You will not be dissapointed.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    39
    24
    13
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“all around terrible experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Atmosphere is non-existent. The food is over-priced. The clientele sometimes leaves much to be desired. The servers make you feel like you're an inconvenience, especially when they vacuum next to you.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sellersville, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good service and good food and reasonable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Had a family dinner that was good and priced very reasonably. Four stars is a bit high, however, they deserve better then three. The service was very friendly and the food was good. Keep your expectations in check and you will enjoy your very fair priced meal. We spent $40 for a family of 3 with no alcohol.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

The pastas were very good (Shrimp linguini and ravioli), but the veal although very tasty was a bit tough and thicker than I usually see it.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Two Thumbs up!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Unfamiliar with Gettysburg, we were looking for a place to have dinner that was not in a "Ho Hum" 'chain restaurant' but was casual, kid friendly and affordable in the downtown area. Our party of seven were pleasently surprised by the ambience and character of this restaurant in historic downtown. We had made reservations the night before, requesting seating that would accommodate all of us, one being a disabled person and it was ready for us the minute we arrived. Our hostess was immediately attentive through out our meal. Mama Ventura's had a large selection to choose from on their menu. The children's menu had a variety of choices as well. Everyone ordered a different dish along with appetizers, drinks from the bar and their homemade deserts. Excellent all round! So glad we found this Gem! Kudos to the Chef, hostess and wait staff for a most wonderful dinner. We'll be back.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mamma Ventura Restaurant also viewed

 
Gettysburg, PA
 

Been to Mamma Ventura Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mamma Ventura Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.