We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good home cooking.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Avenue Restaurant

Avenue Restaurant
21 Steinwehr Ave, Gettysburg, PA 17325-2811
717-334-3235
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #40 of 101 Restaurants in Gettysburg
Price range: $0 - $12
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Late Night
Oxford, Ohio
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good home cooking.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

Good home cooked food. Portions were large for a reasonable price. They have parking behind the restaurant.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    133
    106
    48
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Improved”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

I tend to wake up early, so I came here to drink coffee until the wife finally rolled out of bed. As I entered I said I was there for only coffee so while they were nice enough, they seemed not that interested in whether I was ready for more coffee or not. I guess the didn't think I would tip enough, which I always tip big unless the service sucks. One morning I did actually eat breakfast and found the food very good. I had eaten here years ago and felt a bit ill afterwards, but this trip all was well. Nice to see that they improved their quality. I will give it a try again on my next trip

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riner, Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Never Eat Here”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

Everything appears to be dripped, slathered, and coated in grease, even the salads! I ate here once and would never come back. Avoid at all costs!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Home style cooking away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

We drove into Gettysburg jetlagged and hungry. The Avenue was just a block or two from the battlefields and monuments and very near the center of town. It was friendly, clean and the food was tasty. Good menu. Good directional help from the cashier. And an extra: cool t-shirts for sale. Warmly recommended for a great lunch.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Pleasant Place for Dinner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

The Avenue Restaurant is kind of an old style diner/coffee shop which we found pleasant. There was a good sized menu and the prices were reasonable. The food was fine - nothing memorable - but just fine for what we came there for - a decent , non-fast food dinner with enough choices to suit everyone and good, prompt service.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Avenue Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Avenue Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avenue Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.