We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visit this museum!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rupp House

Rupp House
451 Baltimore St, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 37 Attractions in Gettysburg
Attraction Details
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Visit this museum!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

What a charming, well-done museum! The Gettysburg Foundation does a wonderful job with the Rupp House Museum, and it is so incredibly obvious that the volunteers staffing the house love their town and its history. The Battle of Gettysburg (and life in the months following) comes alive as visitors have the chance to experience it by engaging all senses- touch, smell, sight and sound. When visiting Gettysburg, don't miss this little gem of a museum!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    11
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Thank You”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We became foundation members this year so we decided to check out the Rupp house and it was great, the staff at the door took the time me know us and it gave us a welcome feeling. Gift shop was great and the product and prices are perfect.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Well done interactive museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

The guide welcomes you at the door, giving you the history of the family and house. There are a number of interactive exhibits, especially drawers to pull out - and interesting for adults too! It is well done and full of interesting civil war facts packed in the small spaces of this historic house

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesboro, Pennsylvania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“What a find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Tonight, my family and I stumbled upon this gem as we were killing time waiting for a table to open up in a nearby restaurant. What a wonderful museum! First of all, it was free!!! Whoever heard of such a thing in a place devoted to tourism dollars. The next pleasant surprise was that it was interactive. That meant that my children (ages 3 & 7) were free to enjoy it on their terms. That immediately made me take a sigh of relief because everything is just so breakable in Gettysburg. Last, we were pleasantly greeted when we came in and the docent shared the significance of the Rupp House during the battle of Gettysburg with us which certainly taught me a thing or two.

This is a wonderful place to stop at if you are in the area. Please keep in mind that you'll want to have a few dollars in your pocket when you visit because there is a donation box in the museum to help support it as well as a very mementos that you can buy. Thanks Friends of Gettysburg for bringing us this wonderful experience!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
olyphant , pa
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Must see!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

This house is usually opren on weekends. It tells a civilian story of the war. Very interesting. Free! Has different programs.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rupp House also viewed

 

Been to Rupp House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rupp House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.