We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank You” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rupp House

Rupp House
451 Baltimore St, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 65 things to do in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Thank You”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We became foundation members this year so we decided to check out the Rupp house and it was great, the staff at the door took the time me know us and it gave us a welcome feeling. Gift shop was great and the product and prices are perfect.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    22
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
164 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Well done interactive museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

The guide welcomes you at the door, giving you the history of the family and house. There are a number of interactive exhibits, especially drawers to pull out - and interesting for adults too! It is well done and full of interesting civil war facts packed in the small spaces of this historic house

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesboro, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“What a find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Tonight, my family and I stumbled upon this gem as we were killing time waiting for a table to open up in a nearby restaurant. What a wonderful museum! First of all, it was free!!! Whoever heard of such a thing in a place devoted to tourism dollars. The next pleasant surprise was that it was interactive. That meant that my children (ages 3 & 7) were free to enjoy it on their terms. That immediately made me take a sigh of relief because everything is just so breakable in Gettysburg. Last, we were pleasantly greeted when we came in and the docent shared the significance of the Rupp House during the battle of Gettysburg with us which certainly taught me a thing or two.

This is a wonderful place to stop at if you are in the area. Please keep in mind that you'll want to have a few dollars in your pocket when you visit because there is a donation box in the museum to help support it as well as a very mementos that you can buy. Thanks Friends of Gettysburg for bringing us this wonderful experience!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
olyphant , pa
Level Contributor
112 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Must see!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

This house is usually opren on weekends. It tells a civilian story of the war. Very interesting. Free! Has different programs.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great overview of civilian life in Gettysburg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

The guides make this a great quick stop. The house is not original but the story is. Free (but donation would be nice since these groups do good work and need funds to continue). Great interactive exhibits and well worth it to stop in and "lift the rifle." This is an example of what the average soldier had to carry (weapon, bed roll, etc.) and is a real eye-opener. That experience stuck with us.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rupp House also viewed

 

Been to Rupp House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rupp House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.