We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Business Trip!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aspire Gettysburg Hotel

Save Saved
You added Aspire Gettysburg Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aspire Gettysburg Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2634-A Emmitsburg Road, Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 29 hotels in Gettysburg
Mendham, New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Business Trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We stayed for four days on a business conference in October and could not have been happier. Our room was large, clean and comfortable (and a great price point - so unusual these days). The staff was friendly, competent and went out of their way to meet the needs of all attendees. The food was super - some of the best meals we've ever eaten at conferences and we go to three or four annually all over the East Coast.
We would recommend Aspire without hesitation for business or personal travel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    26
    16
    3
    5
See reviews for
34
18
1
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

If you like a little ambience when you travel, skip this property. It's very 70's and dated. From the first impression of the lobby, the ceiling tiles seem to be pressing down on the space. While the room was huge, the hanging area for clothes is open to the room (no door), the pictures on the wall look like them came from a goodwill store (and are grossly undersized) and the sofa had some paint (I'm hoping) splatters. Also, there seems to be a weird vibe going on with the staff. While they responded as necessary, they don't seem to get along very well. The morning buffet was extremely lackluster and not worth the money. I was there for 4 days for a business conference and every event meal was less than lukewarm and unappetizing. Bar and restaurant, forget about it, if they're even open for business. I'm not normally a complainer but there has to be better hotels in the area if you are looking for a stay that doesn't rub you the wrong way.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Marlboro, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

It is difficult to seperate AspireHotel from the older Eisenhower Conference Center since they share common amenities: Convenient loction to battlefield sttractions, restaurant, swimmng pool and parking areas. We booked a poolside, two-queen sized beds, SMOKING room at the Eisenhower for a two night stay. Since we had lodged there many times in past years, we thought we knew what to expect. At check-in I was informed, without explanation. that we had been "upgraded" to the adjoining "Aspire". The desk crew were courteous but reluctant to explain why we had been moved. Our room was over-sized by most hotel standards, meticulously manicured and equipped with a pair of king-sized beds, flat screen wall-mounted TV, two overftuffed chairs and a writing-computer desk. (Oooops, Wi-Fi non-existant.) The ceilings are so high that you can hear a slight echo everytime you talk above a whisper. The room door bore the International sign for "Non-Smoking". (Ooops, someone made a mistake.) Front desk explained that the Aspire is a non-smoking hotel. Fair enough...wish someone, holding the printout of our booking request, had bothered to mentioned that before we took the room key. Found out later the originally-booked room was included in a section suffering a boiler failure.
Oh well, it hd been a long day and we were looking for a quiet dinner at the in-house restaurant, Richards. OOOOps! The restaurant won't be open tonight. Huh? But there is a Deli, but it's closed right now. Opens in about ninety minutes. Dare I ask if there is a continental breakfast in-house? Ooops...sorry, not available!
The hotel provides a charming "Smoking Area" for the 25% of traveler's who still use tobacco. Two semi-comfortable wrought iron benchs are firmly entrenched outside, just beyond the shelter of the overhang which covers the main entrance and front portal. Ooops!Depending on weather conditions this designated area can be either a welcome respite of fresh air or a soaking wet, bone-chilling horror. (If you are a smoker, check the weather forecast before you check-in.) And then there is the "Ambient Music" which continuously wafts through the smoker's corner. I truely believe that the"new Age" formless, electronic music ganre is an art form which should be enjoyed only in thirty-second bursts, after which you will either fall asleep or feel the need to walk far, far away. It doesn't stop....you can't turn it down...it's always there droning and numbing the senses.
Our biggest disappointment was in the bathroom. Well equipped with towels, toiletries and a stylish semi-circular shower curtain but the commode is seated so close to the floor that any person over 5' 6" is going to be uncomfortable sitting down. Oooops! I know the need to conserve water and commodes which produce fewer pints per flush are cost-effective, but this is ridiculous! If you have ANY problems with knee or hip motion, arthritis, bursitis, etc., beware. The minimal water level is high, the commode seat is very low. Neither very sanitary nor comfortable.
The Aspire is probably a great place for a business conference, meeting or wedding, but not really ftraveller-riendly to the casual, smoker sojourner. We should all aspire to achieving the good life. Our aspirations are to enjoy our retirement years far, far away from non-melodic music and non-smoking hotels.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheektowaga, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed in the Aspire (just another building next to the main Inn) over Labor Day weekend and had a spacious and quiet room. The hotel was clean but, as others have said, needs some updating. The rooms were similar to what you'd get at a Best Western or Howard Johnson, similarly dingy though a bit roomier. Breakfast was not included, so we bought some cereal rather than overpaying for what was offered. The location was ideal - about a five minute drive to the battlefield or Main Street in town, but far enough away from the center of town that it was quiet and uncrowded. We would stay here again if we got another discounted deal through a travel website, but would not pay full price.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, OH
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed here for a weekend visiting Gettysburg. It's a little farther down from the downtown area, but within a 10 minute drive. If you want to walk through some of the main attractions from your hotel, this probably isn't the hotel for you. But the hotel is clean and the staff was friendly.

There were a few minor hiccups. We stayed two nights. After the first night, we toured and came back to the hotel and our key cards weren't working but they fixed that right away. Also, it would have been nice to have been offered a continental breakfast but there was a separate fee. They had free wifi but it's spotty and slow.

The rooms are very large and the ones with two kings have a small fridge and microwave which is very convenient.

Overall, the experience was good, but if I have a chance to visit Gettysburg again, I think I'll try to find something closer to the main attractions.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a decent view. Our faced another part of the hotel and their HVAC unit. :(
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

As the mother of the bride I wanted our guests to be close to the wedding venue and also to be very comfortable. I found both at the Aspire. Working with the staff to ensure that a block of rooms was reserved and to coordinate a brunch was so easy. Everything was perfect. The rooms are all brand new with two king beds, a small kitchenette and a pull out couch. It was fabulously comfortable for our guests.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

A group of over 200 dogs and people arrived for a week 10/6-10/12. There was nothing the staff wouldn't do for us- both at the Hotel and the All Star Event Center. Food was excellent, (service a bit slow, but it was a large crowd) , rooms spacious for an older hotel and office & staff responded immediately to any questions or comments. Sally Richardson at the Hotel and Beverly Heare at the All Star worked endlessly to make the week successful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aspire Gettysburg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspire Gettysburg Hotel

Address: 2634-A Emmitsburg Road, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 29 hotels in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aspire Gettysburg Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aspire Gettysburg Hotel is Gettysburg's newest full service hotel. We offer large spacious rooms, family friendly bathrooms, and Double King accommodations. Plus, free WIFI and use of our indoor pool and fitness center are provided. We also feature plenty of private group meeting space. Check-in is at 3pm. Check-out is 11am. Cancellation Policy: 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Expedia so you can book your Aspire Gettysburg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aspire Gettysburg Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.