We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aspire Gettysburg Hotel

Save Saved
You added Aspire Gettysburg Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aspire Gettysburg Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2634-A Emmitsburg Road, Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 29 hotels in Gettysburg
Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Very nice stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

My daughter gave me a coupon for the room. I don't know how much she paid but the room was not expensive. I visited Gettysburg with my granddaughter. The hotel was fine: room very large, clean, good beds, comfortable sleep. Very minor problem with the shower hardware. We were there on a Monday and the Eisenhower Convention Center next door was eerily empty - restaurant closed - and the indoor pool really too cold for comfort. Temperature perhaps good for a lap pool, not for a relaxing dip. Staff was pleasant. A very nice stay. I still can't figure out why they close the name "Aspire" which infers that you haven't reached what you are hoping to!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    22
    13
    3
    5
See reviews for
28
16
1
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manassas, Virginia, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I used a Social Living voucher for our recent stay at the Aspire. The staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean, the beds big and able to accommodate two adults and two Tweens easily. The pillows were a bit hard. It was helpful to have the microwave and refrigerator. The towels were sturdy and there were plenty of them. I would not recommend the restaurant as it was a bit pricey for fairly ordinary food. However, there is a serviceable deli on the premises which is open 7:30am - 10:00pm. There is a lot of space around the hotel (off street) where kids can run around a get off steam. The amusement park is "ok." It is a bit dated and the equipment is not new. However it was useful for a bit of diversion. But, I wouldn't make it the reason for staying at the hotel. Overall, I was pleased to have clean respectable accommodations that were not outrageously expensive. I would go back again - even without the discount of the Living Social voucher.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odenton, Maryland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

This hotel was pretty basic. Front desk staff was friendly and helpful. Rooms were large, and while it was nice to have two king-sized beds, they were hard and uncomfortable. The shower worked poorly -- the flow from the shower head was spotty. My husband likened the experience to "being spit on by an elephant." That pretty much sums it up. I really liked the location, though. It is not a far drive from the town and really close to the Gettysburg battlefields. Although I usually rate hotels' fitness centers, I did not even look at this one because the opportunity to jog down the road to battlefield in the morning was too enticing. It was a beautiful and peaceful run. If they could fix the mattresses and the shower heads, I would rate this hotel higher, just for the location alone. However, the bed and shower are too essential to the quality of the trip for me, so I probably won't go back to this hotel the next time I go to Gettysburg.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keene, NH
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

This place is lovely. Rooms are huge! Two king beds and a pullout sofa. Big bathroom. Room and property is clean and nicely decorated. I'd highly recommend the Aspire. This property is located just past the battlefields. Great location - you can see gorgeous sunsets from the battlefields and a quick jaunt to downtown for food or back to the hotel for relaxing by the pool. I must say the staff is top notch. We were greeted by a front desk employee named, Mark. He made us feel most welcome and had a great sense of humor. His counterpart, Thomas, was also very helpful and put up with us as we tried to coordinate a group picture in front of their work station. We are traveling with two other couples and they made sure our rooms were placed close to each other, as requested. A true gem, great value - will stay here again.

Room Tip: We got a handicapped room - very spacious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asheboro NC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed at the Aspire Inn august 7 and 8 and i cannot tell you how wonderful we were taken care of! what a delight to have wonderful smiling people behind the desk ready willing and able to help you in any circumstance mostly "Tommy" who put us in our room after Hotels .com did not have a room for us at the hotel we originally booked, then they booked us into the Aspire and we did not have a room when i arrived, but Tommy fixed aLL that after my 8 hour drive from NC
i needed a smile and a pillow and He did all that and then some. His patience while i was on the phone with hotels.com getting my refund before i booked with the Aspire He genuinely was amazing and even ask for the indoor pool to be open past the normal closing time for my son. Wow! he was just amazing!
the Aspire was Amazing! Whenever i plan my next trip to Gettysburg i certainly wont stay anywhere else but the Aspire hands down they are exactly what you need to have after a long day of Gettysburg tours...when i crawled into that bed i swore i was never going to leave it I felt like a queen and want to thank Aspire for giving my son and I that wonderful special feeling of King and queen treatment thank you again!
The Aspire might be one of Gettysburgs best kept secrets!

Room Tip: I did not use service dine with them or use the spa so I will leave those comments blank
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Just wanted to say our room at the Aspire was great. My issue was with the pool. I told the check-in clerk several times about the temperature of the water. It was freezing. One person told us they don't heat the pool in the summer. Then someone told us the heater kicks on if it goes below 78. That is way to cold for a supposed to be heated indoor pool. Therefore I was very disappointed in my stay and will not be going back. The pool is not warm enough to enjoy swimming!!! Also the Restaurant was not open the entire we were there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnsOfDistinction, Manager at Aspire Gettysburg Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Laura H,

Thanks for posting your review on TripAdvisor and for telling the world "our room at the Aspire was great." And thanks for staying with us, we certainly appreciate both!

I want you to know that our pool is heated and it's also set to a thermostat, so I am surprised by your comment. Most guests love the comfortable water temperature, sorry you didn't.

Anyway, we do hope you will come back soon...

DRH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Canton
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Great price. Really liked the setting! The options for breakfast were great. Been to Gettysburg six times and always stayed in town, so the ride in seemed just a little inconvenient but don't let that deter you!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aspire Gettysburg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspire Gettysburg Hotel

Address: 2634-A Emmitsburg Road, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 29 hotels in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aspire Gettysburg Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aspire Gettysburg Hotel is Gettysburg's newest full service hotel. We offer large spacious rooms, family friendly bathrooms, and Double King accommodations. Plus, free WIFI and use of our indoor pool and fitness center are provided. We also feature plenty of private group meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Aspire Gettysburg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aspire Gettysburg Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.