We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great & Terrible at the same time?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Aspire Gettysburg Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Aspire Gettysburg Hotel to your Saves list
Aspire Gettysburg Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2634-A Emmitsburg Road, Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 29 Hotels in Gettysburg
Valparaiso, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great & Terrible at the same time?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Just went to the 150th anniversary of Gettysburg. This hotel's location to the National Military Park is fabulous! The air condition worked great. The shower pressure was wonderful after a long day of site seeing. The light music playing in lobby was relaxing. Front desk service was super friendly. Room 335 was very spacious and had everything we needed. However, I am not sure why the the walls and furniture were so worn looking when the front desk told me they have only been open for a few months. Felt like the stocked the hotel with used items. We had one of the worst restaurant experiences of our life at the adjoing restaurant called Richards. The decor looks like left over home interiors. The service and food were horrible. My meal came out way later than everyone else's. Our bill had a $9 dessert on it that we didn't order. I waited 30 minutes after I asked for the check and finally had to get up and get it from the hostess myself. My mom actually got sick later that night from the chicken parmesan she ate there. When I got up to the counter to pay since my waitress was never coming for our check, another man was trying to solve a bill problem too. The restaurant wasn't very crowded at the time, but had some new workers. The food definitley wasn't worth the price. I would recommend staying at the Aspire, but don't eat at Richards.

Room Tip: Room 335 was very spacious and had two king sized beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    32
    21
    5
    6
See reviews for
36
26
1
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
White River Junction, Vermont
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed for two days. When we arrived there was a mix up on our room and the manager, Ryan, held two rooms for us to decide which one we wanted. As all hotels were booked, it was a class act to hold two rooms until we reviewed them. In addition, the staff and manager were friendly and helpful on places to check out. If you go to the hotel restaurant, I would recommend the bourbon pork.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We recently travelled to Gettysburg, PA for the 150th celebration of the Civil War Battle. We originally booked a neighboring motor lodge several months earlier. Upon arrival at the original site, we learned that that hotel had raised its rates and that their pool was closed. Refusing to accept those conditions, we were foced to search for alternate lodging. I had remembered seeing that the Aspire Gettysburg Hotel was located nearby while searching for hotels and decided to stop by in person to see if they had any vacancies despite having seen that it was listed as sold out on a travel site. Upon arrival at the Aspire, I met Mike Mulligan who reassured me that he had an open room. He even agreed to honor the rate that I had found when researching the room weeks ago. He took interest in my family, greeting us each time we passed through the lobby. He even offered us free passes to an adjoining family fun center. The hotel was clean, the rooms were clean and spacious, and the indoor pool was phenomenal. The hotel is located two miles away from the battlefield and keeps you out of the downtown traffic. Te hotel and staff are excellent. We had a great stay. Thank you again, Mr. Mulligan!

Room Tip: The hotel offers dual King bed suites with refrigerator, microwave, and coffeemaker.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnsOfDistinction, Manager at Aspire Gettysburg Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Darric B

What a great review of the Aspire Gettysburg Hotel, I can see we helped make your trip to Gettysburg successful! This is wonderful news and I am pleased that we exceeded your expectations.

Your comments about our hotel, its cleanliness, our spacious rooms and our phenomenal indoor pool are wonderful to read. But I must say the comment about our staff member Mike and how he embraced your family needs and welcomed you to our hotel was absolutely the best! So, thanks.

We appreciate the gracious review you posted and for letting the world know that the Aspire Gettysburg Hotel "Saved" your vacation.

Oh, the Laser Tag arena is now open at the Gettysburg Family Amusement Complex...so come back soon

DRH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, Iowa
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Hotel could use some updates but seemed better than the hotel it is attached to and shares the fitness center, pool, and restaurant with. The rooms were very spacious, we had a double queen room and the high ceilings make the room very comfortable. The couch was very outdated, I worked from the desk a bit and it was comfortable and well lit. Bathroom was fine with good water pressure that is important to me.

We had one issue with some bugs we found in our room the first night. They were similar to what I call water bugs that you would find in your basement. We found 4 in our room before bed so that made sleeping a bit restless. Reported it to the hotel staff the next morning and never saw another bug the rest of the trip. The must have sprayed or something. The staff was very concerned and got right on it, we appreciated that.

Beds were comfortable, we bring our own pillows but they seemed fine.

The pool was strange. It was in the older attached hotel and the room was very dark and warm. The pool is divided into 2 sections, one that is 5' deep and the other 2' deep. There were no lights in the 2' sections so I was really keeping a close watch on kids around the pool to make sure they were jumping in expecting deeper water. The 5' section did have lights.

Desk staff were very nice, greeted us on entry and exit. Hotel was a short trip to Gettysburg sites and that was why we were there. I'd stay here again.

I would suggest some information in the rooms about the amenities. We couldn't find any and getting around without the info is difficult with the attached hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room close to the entrance. That is where you will have to park and come in, no side entry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnsOfDistinction, Manager at Aspire Gettysburg Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear MtDuffy

Thanks for posting your review on TripAdvisor and for staying with us at the Aspire Gettysburg Hotel. We always value our guests’ comments.

I am pleased to read that you found our front desk staff “very nice" and that you wrote “I’d stay here again." This is always good news.

As for your comment about our hotel offerings and amenities; that's an excellent idea and we will address this promptly. In fact, we will also add the Gettysburg Family Amusement Complex and its offerings too, since Laser Tag, Mini Golf and Go Kart racing are right next door. Thanks

We appreciate your selecting the Aspire Gettysburg Hotel and look forward to seeing you again.

DRH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pottstown, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We were in the "newer" side of the hotel - Aspire. It was a HUGE room for two people. Two double beds and a sleeper sofa and 10 ft. ceilings or higher. There were stains on the floor, walls, a water mark on the ceiling, and a stain on the sleeper sofa. We had a mini-fridge, microwave and small coffee maker. The coffee maker was missing the lid and we had to use a pen to push on the coffee pot to make it drip/brew. There were no bed bugs, the air conditioner worked well, and the beds were comfortable. The bathroom was nice, not perfectly clean, but fine. The hallway to our room smelled like B.O. but once in the room there was no smell at all. Our friends, also running the race, were in the historic side and did not have a mini-fridge or microwave. Their bathroom was a little more dated than ours and the room was a lot smaller, but felt cozy. They said they found a dead cockroach on the floor. The staff was very nice. While we didn't use the pool, we walked through and they keep it very humid, but it has nice natural light through the sky lights that cover the ceiling. The hotel is located about 7 minutes from the center of town and sight-seeing.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canonsburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

I was really impressed by the staff and overall comfort of the hotel. I was very impressed as soon as I arrived by the way I was greeted and welcomed to the hotel by Mark Mulligan night time manager.Right from the getgo Mark knew who I was and treated me and my familyin a very friendly manner. Once again I would recommend a stay at the Aspire to all my family and friends.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnsOfDistinction, Manager at Aspire Gettysburg Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Wozwonders

Thanks for staying with us at the Aspire Gettysburg Hotel and for the great review you posted on TripAdvisor. We appreciate both!

It's great to read that we impressed you with our attention to service, hospitality and the general look and cleanliness of the Aspire Hotel. This is fantastic news!

We hope the rest of your trip to Gettysburg was as delightful as your stay at the Aspire Gettysburg Hotel.

Please come back and see us again...

DRH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Rooms were clean and well kept. We stayed in the newer addition of the hotel. The place is huge and spread out! There is a lounge, pool area, snack shop, gift shop, etc. Also a go kart track next to the facility. Breakfast was good but a little on the expensive side (it was a buffet but everything was fresh, if you can eat a lot it is well worth the money!!). All employees were very courteous and helpful. It is right outside of Gettysburg, not even 5 minutes from downtown, and easily accessible.

Room Tip: The rooms in the newer addition are HUGE! We had four adults in one room and we weren't cramped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aspire Gettysburg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspire Gettysburg Hotel

Address: 2634-A Emmitsburg Road, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 29 Hotels in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aspire Gettysburg Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aspire Gettysburg Hotel is Gettysburg's newest full service hotel. We offer large spacious rooms, family friendly bathrooms, and Double King accommodations. Plus, free WIFI and use of our indoor pool and fitness center are provided. We also feature plenty of private group meeting space. Check-in is at 3pm. Check-out is 11am. Cancellation Policy: 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Aspire Gettysburg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aspire Gettysburg Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.