We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keep your expectations low” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Aspire Gettysburg Hotel

Save Saved
You added Aspire Gettysburg Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aspire Gettysburg Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2634-A Emmitsburg Road, Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 29 Hotels in Gettysburg
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Keep your expectations low”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

I went to Aspire with a group. We were told we would be staying in the Eisenhower and, after reading the reviews on tripadvisor, I was dreading the experience and had very low expectations going into the trip. As it happened, Aspire exceeded my expectations. That's not to say that it was the perfect hotel, but it not that bad... my group joked that it was "bad, but not THAT bad." This seems to be an accurate summary for the hotel.

Here are some things you should know:
-This building and the Eisenhower are connected by an above-ground tunnel. Most attractions (pool, resturant, gym, etc.) are in the Eisenhower. It's fairly easy to get lost in the Eisenhower, so be patient as you learn the ins and outs of the hotel.
-Don't have high expectations... some things are just off. The gym equitment was old and missing pieces. I called the front desk for a toothbrush and was told to buy one in the morning. The automatic wake-up calls aren't all that convenient. The logo makes the hotel look like an airline. If you keep your expectations so-so, you will be pleasantly surprised.
-The location of the hotel was convienent and close to town.
-The pool area is unbearably hot. One of the hotel employees had to stand outside in long black pants and a long black shirt. I don't know know how she didn't pass out.
-As others have probably said, the decor is off. I'm talking unaligned pictures, weirdly-place sofas, and an occasional lack of feng shui... get over it and enjoy the trip.
-While the TVs were semi-outdated, they were functional and offered many channels.
-Our room was clean for the most part, but there were a few weird marks in the sink and other surfaces. The hallways were not vacuumed very well. (Note to manager, the glass doors of the Eisenhower were not clean. This did not make a great first impression).
-While the staff is not always as helpful as they could be (there was especially confusion over billing for the Continental breakfast), they were always courteous and kind.
-Safety is an issue. While walking around the hotel, we discovered several outside doors propped open. This was very concerning to my group.
-The food is fine, but nothing special.

There's a lot of negativity up there, so I'd like to say that it was not a bad experience. The hotel had nice beds (very easy to sleep in) and good features. The staff tried to help as much as they could. It's a bit off, but (as I've said 100 times), if you keep your expectations fairly low you will be pleasantly surprised. I would probably stay again.

Room Tip: Don't just stay in your room... the hotel offers lots of features such as a shop, fitness center...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    29
    17
    4
    5
See reviews for
34
22
1
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Easton, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

While searching online the day we were planning to stay overnight, we came across this hotel which already had wonderful reviews. After looking at the pictures I figured this hotel was out of my price range. I could not have been more wrong. The price was fantastic and in a great location if you have kids (about 10 minutes from downtown Gettysburg). It is next door to a go-kart track and an awesome arcade. The rooms were immaculate, the front desk clerks were very friendly and helpful (printed out menus of nearby eateries with out even asking them to, all we did was ask for a pizza parlor nearby). Two king size beds and a couch in the room that could have fit another king size bed in it. Overall...... an awesome experience!!! Will stay again without hesitation.

Room Tip: Huge room with two king size beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnsOfDistinction, Manager at Aspire Gettysburg Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear LucasTrips

From your review it was easy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Aspire Gettysburg Hotel. It's great to read such a nice review and to learn that our staff services and hospitality standards exceeded your expectations. Fantastic!

Plus, I was happy to hear that your kids enjoyed the Gettysburg Family Amusement Complex, right next to Aspire Gettysburg Hotel. What fun!

Anyway, I think my 2 favorite comments from your posting are...

1. The price was fantastic and in a great location
2. Overall...... an awesome experience!!! Will stay again without hesitation.

It's reviews like yours that show we have done our job! We look forward to your return!

DRH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Just returned from 3 day golf trip to Gettysburg. 16 of our group stayed at the Aspire. The free continental breakfast that we were promised consisted of a cup of coffee and a store bought pre packaged muffin. The restuarant was not opened. Most of the Tvs did not workand for the last day and half of our stay there was no hot water. The staff was not apologetic in fact it was more of this is what you get for staying here. Don't be misled by the amenities-the pool, etc exists in teh adjoining hotel.

Room Tip: If you want a good room--go sonewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnsOfDistinction, Manager at Aspire Gettysburg Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear RayZ90

Thanks for posting your review on TripAdvisor and for selecting the Aspire Gettysburg Hotel. We appreciate both.

We apologize that there was a lack of hot water and less than stellar breakfast offered. Rest assured that this is not acceptable performance for us. Additionally, we are working with the group leader from your golf group to rectify some of the challenges encountered.

The lack of hot water was due to a mechanical failure of one of our boilers from the storms that week. But the new parts have been delivered and installed thus correcting this matter, unfortunately, too late for your group.

In regard to your review of our breakfast, we have upgraded the offerings in our market deli, so when the restaurant is closed our guests will have a suitable continental breakfast as expected. We appreciate your help in improving our guest services!

The TVs in Aspire are 32 inch flat panels and our housekeeping staff checks every one daily before the room is released for a new guest arrival. Nonetheless, we will be checking the rooms in your group block to assure the TVs properly work.

Anyway, I understand your golfing in Gettysburg was fantastic and we look forward to hosting your group again.

DRH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

My wife and I have been traveling to Gettysburg for years and thought we would try out the new hotel in Gettysburg.....what a great trip! We just loved the hotel. The staff was extremely helpful and very nice with some great recommendations to some hidden restaurants. (We felt like a local.) It had everything we needed, a comfy king bed with great pillows (which is big for me), fridge, free internet and my morning coffee in the room. We could not have asked for more. We had breakfast in the morning, it was a Continental, just enough to start our day. We took advantage of the free shuttle during our visit to the battlefield, highly recommend. We have found our new hotel for our Gettysburg trips.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOME
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

The Aspire Gettysburg Hotel was a great find for our family trip through Gettysburg. We found the hotel clean, the value awesome and the location to the National Battlefield perfect. Plus, there's a free shuttle to town and attractions.

Our room was large, well appointed and had 2 king beds, 2 sinks and a large flat TV. And the staff was very helpful and friendly!

Not sure when we will be passing through Gettysburg again, but we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: we had a family room with 2 giant king beds!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Brunswick, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We take many school trips (6) between May and June, with over 200 middle school kids and have never had any problems with this hotel.
The rooms are overly spacious with a pull-out couch and 2 king sized beds. New Flat Screen TV, Microwave, Refrigerator and coffee maker, and always a spotlessly clean room.
Hotel Lobby from the start, represents this establishment, with being open and bright.
Check in they offered juice and cookies, and in the morning offer up nice breakfast.
Have a number of large Meeting Rooms for groups for any type of functions.
About 3 miles from the Gettysburg Historic Downtown sites and Battlefield area.
Great Friendly Staff to work with.
Hotel even offers up a cleaning maid service for Charter Buses as a complementary extra for touring groups.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnsOfDistinction, Manager at Aspire Gettysburg Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Louis E

We certainly appreciate your group staying with us at the Aspire Gettysburg Hotel and for posting your great review on TripAdvisor. Thank you.

You are correct when you wrote "The rooms are overly spacious with a pull-out couch and 2 king sized beds" Plus, with your school group the "New Flat Screen TV, Microwave, Refrigerator and coffee maker, and always a spotlessly clean room" makes your job easier for sure.

Anyway, we value your business and look forward to your next trip to Gettysburg!

DRH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Aspire hotel was great. We stayed 1 night at the old Eisenhower and asked to be switched to the aspire. Mark at the aspire front desk was very friendly, professional, and extremely helpful. The aspire is newly renovated and clean. It is a major upgrade from the old Eisenhower. The beds are comfy with nice sheets. Wifi is a plus. AC works great in 95 degree weather. The only negative was that we didn't know about the aspire the first night we stayed at the old Eisenhower. I will stay here again. We were part of a group and the hotel was very accommodating. It's about a 5 min drive into downtown and very close to the main battlefields. It's the best option is you are staying in town for wedding at the battlefield inn.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnsOfDistinction, Manager at Aspire Gettysburg Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Joe Z,

When you wrote "Aspire hotel was great” and “Nice place to stay in Gettysburg”; it's quite obvious that you enjoyed your visit with us at the Aspire Gettysburg Hotel. So, thanks for selecting Aspire and for posting such a great review on TripAdvisor.

We appreciate your gracious comments about our staff being "very friendly, professional, and extremely helpful", thanks. Also, your comments about the overall hotel were a pleasure to read as well; "Aspire is newly renovated and clean".

So, thanks again for staying with us at the Aspire Gettysburg Hotel and telling the world about how much you enjoyed your stay.

We value the reviews posted on TripAdvisor, especially the really great ones! THANKS

DRH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aspire Gettysburg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspire Gettysburg Hotel

Address: 2634-A Emmitsburg Road, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 29 Hotels in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aspire Gettysburg Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aspire Gettysburg Hotel is Gettysburg's newest full service hotel. We offer large spacious rooms, family friendly bathrooms, and Double King accommodations. Plus, free WIFI and use of our indoor pool and fitness center are provided. We also feature plenty of private group meeting space. Check-in is at 3pm. Check-out is 11am. Cancellation Policy: 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Expedia so you can book your Aspire Gettysburg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aspire Gettysburg Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.