We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome selection!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sweeet!

Sweeet!
100 Baltimore Street, Gettysburg, PA
717.339.0039
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 113 Restaurants in Gettysburg
Price range: $0 - $5
Cuisines: Dessert
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dessert
Description: Open Every Day! Located in historic Gettysburg, Pennsylvania on the corner of Baltimore and Middle Street, one block from Lincoln Square, across from the Adams County Courthouse.From traditional, old fashioned candies to local specialties, to new and awesome candies, you'll never lack for something sweeet! Over 1000 types of sweeets, including Pez, Dots, Wax Bottles, Tequila Pops (with worm), Goetz, Sour, Gummies, snacks, like chips, nuts, pretzels, ice cream and donuts, and to wash it all down, a variety of cold drinks from Coca Cola, Pepsi, RC and Moxie in glass bottles to coffee drinks, energy drinks, specialty drinks like Bacon Soda, Cucumber Soda, Buffalo Wing Soda and just plain old water, plus gifts! Magic 8 Balls, Lunchboxes, Pinatas, Pez Sets and Mucho Hello Kitty!
Poughkeepsie, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Awesome selection!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Love all the varieties of candy here and also the soda!a nice and friendly staff too!Love stocking up on candy I don't really see a lot plus some unique items! A great stop for the young and old with a sweet tooth!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    15
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Somerset, Pennsylvania
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“a trip to the past.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Sweet is an awsome place, you will find things from your childhood you thought were gone forever,soft drinks from days gone by nehi etc. Candy bars and other sweets form the good old days along with some unusual items, you got to check this place out. it's located on Baltimore street close to the diamond or Licoln square if you prefer.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
strongstown
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Fun place to shop!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We stop at this shop on every trip to Gettysburg! The owners are friendly and helpful. There are tons of retro candies, taffy, novelty candies and unique sodas to choose from. I bought some of their fun sodas and gave them as xmas gifts. Everyone had a blast trying "buffalo chicken" and "bacon" flavored sodas! Add this shop to your trip...you will have fun here!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
“For children of all ages!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

My family loves this place. We go quite often. I love all the old fashioned candy. My kids like the new modern candy and we all love checking out the weird and strange candies and sodas. Tons of fun and a nice break from all the history.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Lion, Pa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Brings me back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

We passed this little sweet shop while walking through Gettysburg. They were many old soda bottles in the window that caught my eye.

Inside we found many of our old favorites such as chick o stick and vanilla "slap" taffy. We had a bagful of cool candy for us and the grandkids.

Although they did have some individual taffy and sweets I do not think those looking for homemade candies would be satisfied.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cindycindyfox, Owner at Sweeet!, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
I'm glad you enjoyed our shop! Yes, we are not a homemade type of candy store, but rather a retro candy store. We regularly refer people to Kilwins down on Steinwehr for handmade candy and they refer people to us for fun, retro candy.

We carry over 1300 types of candy, over 100 types of soda, about 70 types of taffy, a variety of tins with mints, Snow Balls, Tin Toys, Pez, Rubber Duckies, Pinatas, Switchblade Combs, and Lunchboxes.

We specialize in those things you remember as a child, including Kitts Taffy, Wax Bottles, Button Candy, BB Bats, Candy Cigarettes, Bubblegum Cigarettes, Pop Rocks, Chick o Sticks, Zotz, Slo Pokes, Black Cows, 5th Avenue Bars, Abba Zaba, Zagnut, Mary Janes, Crows and on and on.

We also carry new cool stuff, such as World's Largest Gummy Bear and Worm, Toxic Waste, Squeeze Candy, Jelly Bellies and Spray Candy, but my favorite is the Vosge's Haut Chocolat line which includes Bacon Chocolate Bars, but sometimes bacon seems the new chocolate and our bacon soda, bacon jellybeans, bacon candy and bacon lollipops are all the rage.

Otherwise, people enjoy our huge selections of sodas including Moxie, Leninade, Cheerwine, Sasparilla, Root Beer, Cucumber Soda, Nehis, Frosties, Fizzy Lizzies, Butter Beer and on and on!

I highly recommend Kilwins for handmade chocolate and our shop for anything else!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sweeet! also viewed

 

Been to Sweeet!? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sweeet!, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.