We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great for the train lover” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lincoln Train Museum

Lincoln Train Museum
425 Steinwehr Ave, Gettysburg, PA 17325
+1 717-334-5678
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 36 attractions in Gettysburg
Type: Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Gettysburg's Lincoln Train Museum presents the Spirit of Lincoln and the History of America! Journey with Gettysburg's beloved Jim Getty portraying President Abraham Lincoln as he walks with you through the history of our nation. Experience our new operating train layout presenting President Lincoln's funeral journey from Washington DC to Springfield Illinois. Board our new simulated funeral train car, The United States, where President Abraham Lincoln's spirit pays tribute to the American heroes and citizens who made our nation what it is and encourages future generations to "Keep the Spirit" of our nation alive. We present displays and historic artifacts of Abraham Lincoln, our native lands and the Wild West with its struggles, heroes and horses. We explore memorabilia of our sports figures and Hollywood stars. We recall the battles and wars our nation has endured and pay tribute to our heroes, the soldiers, veterans, law enforcement and EMS of our country. The museum offers the ideal opportunity to experience our nation's past while fostering an appreciation of our present and a rekindling of hope for our nation's future.
newark, de
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“great for the train lover”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

many trains to see with lots of track. The little ride of the train through Gettysburg with Abe Lincoln is something I remembered as a child.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    14
    7
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Georgetown
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fun attraction!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Lots of fun and very informative. If you love trains, you will love this place. Great information on Lincoln and the funeral train that carried his body back to Springfield after his death. Lots of neat displays in the museum and the train ride itself was a lot of fun. Overall, a fun family attraction.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“save your money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

this was a waste of time. the "rides" they offer. one is sitting in a chair watching a tv program. the other is a train that moves up and down as if you are riding it. the presentation during the train ride is of Lincoln, explaining how America is great and why you should be a good American. Really has NOTHING to do with the civil war at all.

Also, the first presentation, Lincoln talks about himself, and completely skips over his own assassination. which I don't understand. that was kind of a big deal.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice store & outside attraction but would not pay for museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

The store was nice, staff friendly. The outside decoration and cabin train was very nice for pictures. In fairness, we did not pay to enter the back museum section. When traveling with a family you need to pick and choose where to spend your money or else you may leave with empty pockets.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“My favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

This is my favorite because it was different than the other museums...It did not talk about the Battle, it was about Lincoln and his journey home. The women who works there was so nice and very helpful. She answered many of our questions, if she did not know the answer she knew where to look and was very happy to do so. The model train was very interesting and shows how Lincoln went home and riding in the train car was also fun.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lincoln Train Museum also viewed

 

Been to Lincoln Train Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lincoln Train Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.