We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So helpful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lincoln Train Museum

Lincoln Train Museum
425 Steinwehr Ave, Gettysburg, PA 17325
+1 717-334-5678
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 37 Attractions in Gettysburg
Type: Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Gettysburg's Lincoln Train Museum presents the Spirit of Lincoln and the History of America! Journey with Gettysburg's beloved Jim Getty portraying President Abraham Lincoln as he walks with you through the history of our nation. Experience our new operating train layout presenting President Lincoln's funeral journey from Washington DC to Springfield Illinois. Board our new simulated funeral train car, The United States, where President Abraham Lincoln's spirit pays tribute to the American heroes and citizens who made our nation what it is and encourages future generations to "Keep the Spirit" of our nation alive. We present displays and historic artifacts of Abraham Lincoln, our native lands and the Wild West with its struggles, heroes and horses. We explore memorabilia of our sports figures and Hollywood stars. We recall the battles and wars our nation has endured and pay tribute to our heroes, the soldiers, veterans, law enforcement and EMS of our country. The museum offers the ideal opportunity to experience our nation's past while fostering an appreciation of our present and a rekindling of hope for our nation's future.
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“So helpful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Wandered in just to look around, and discovered that there are wonderful people there who will answer questions and give help and advice on traveling around Gettysburg. The lovely lady who spoke with me truly saved my day!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    16
    9
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fun for train buffs and kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

This museum has a great caboose outside, perfect for photos. Inside is a journey through time with Lincoln. There is a nice model layout of the funeral train. Plenty of neat things on display and the kids will love the toy trains.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Just okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We came the last hour they were open on a Saturday night, and we were the only ones there. Entry was $7, but I think it was only worth about $3-4 of entertainment. As you go in, there are a series of videos of "Abe Lincoln" talking about various things that have happened throughout American history. The main room has two nice train layouts -- but not the largest layouts ever. They also have cases with many trains and other memorabilia. The simulated train ride is cheesy. Lincoln's Gettysburg Address was only a couple minutes in length, but hologram Lincoln rambles on an on. If you have a coupon or something, worth a look, otherwise not really.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“OK, not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

After being told by the person manning the booth (and the brochures) that they had the largest train layouts EVER, we were disappointed. We've seen larger train layouts many other places. It was okay. If you have a short amount of time in Gettysburg, you may prefer seeing other things besides this.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great collection!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Although trains are not traditionally what you would come to Gettysburg to learn about, you will find your experience here quite memorable. The collection is impressive and you will learn much about travel and trains!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lincoln Train Museum also viewed

 

Been to Lincoln Train Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lincoln Train Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.