We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting small plates” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sidney Willoughby Run

Sidney Willoughby Run
730 Chambersburg Rd., Gettysburg, PA
+1 717-334-3774
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Sidney Willoughby Run is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 113 Restaurants in Gettysburg
Price range: $12 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Route 30
Description: With a focus on simple ingredients, Chef Annis’ menu features small, elegant bites with sophisticated flavor. The menu, inspired by fresh, local ingredients, will change on a daily basis and has been designed to include a variety of small plates rather than the multi-course offerings of sister establishment, Restaurant Sidney in East Berlin.An extensive selection of liquor, beer, wine and cordials invites guests to relax in an urban contemporary atmosphere. The expansive outdoor seating area offers a serene experience with views of the battlefield land preserved by the National Park Service.
Dresher, PA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Interesting small plates”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

After eating a plate of spicy pasta at another restaurant in Gettysburg the evening before our visit to Sidney Willoughby Run, we were pleasantly surprised by the bistro type menu facing us. We started by splitting an order of oysters which were very fresh and delicate. The sauce was very complimentary to them as well. After that we chose 3 more small plates to share. We were very satisfied with the portions and the flavors presented with each choice.
The seating area near the bar is small but the adjacent room appeared large. The staff was busy setting up for a seminar for the college the next day. We thought it is a great venue to occupy a defunct golf club.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    24
    6
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Tx
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Wonderful, surprisingly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This unusual restaurant is located in the former Gettysburg Country Club, which has now been purchased by the National Park (thankfully, as this is where my relative actually formed his regiment into line of battle). Golf course is now abandoned, so there are few lights and signs as you drive up. Somewhat strange going through the rooms of the former clubhouse to the dining room, but don't despair!
The food is excellent, served as appetizers and small plates, but the servings are quite adequate. We had two groups from our family reunion here, and all raved about it. I had oysters and wagyu beef, wife had mac and cheese (with crab!) and duck, and both were done to perfection. Our waitress was fine. Good wine list. Not a cheap meal, but all agreed worth the price. A Gettysburg diamond in the "rough".

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Come for the food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

The food created by this 5-star chef is truly fantastic: creative, beautiful, and so delicious. They use fresh, locally sourced food and serve it up in small plates so you can try a few different items (e.g., pureed celeriac as a vegetable, veal sweetbreads as a first course, wagyu beef for an entree, and hazelnut cheesecake among the outstanding desserts) and even share courses. You can sit inside in the dining room or at the bar. But if the weather is nice, choose the outdoor veranda overlooking the golf course, and ask to be seated near the fireplace.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
“I can't believe this is Gettysburg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

I have lived here for almost 10 years and eaten at just about every restaurant worth trying. This meal was by far the best I have ever had in Gettysburg. Many restaurants in Gettysburg claim to be fine dining, but they are far from it. In one way or another, all other restaurants miss the mark. Not this one! I have been to Sidney in East Berlin and loved it. This restaurant is completely different. Don't come to Willouhby run expecting the same meal. The ingredients are fresh and the entrees are very skillfully executed. The plating is superb. This is my new favorite restaurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great food, odd atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

All the food was incredible, easily some of the finest dining in Gettysburg. Service was great. The only downside was the weird atmosphere. It was hard to peg, it felt like a cross between a country club/old folks home/church meeting hall. With some better interior design the atmosphere could definitely stand up to the food, but it was a little off putting.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sidney Willoughby Run also viewed

 

Been to Sidney Willoughby Run? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sidney Willoughby Run, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.