We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok Restaurant” 3 of 5 stars
Review of King's New York Pizza

King's New York Pizza
226 Steinwehr Ave, Gettysburg, PA
7173343370
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 99 Restaurants in Gettysburg
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Description: New resturant open only 2 weeks fantastic food and outstanding service
Hummelstown, Pennsylvania, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Ok Restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stopped by for lunch during our Gettysburg trip. Pizza was greasy and not good...maybe just a bad day for the cook? They were busy but we didn't wait long. Waitress was nice. Won't go back...to many other good restaurants in the area.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    29
    8
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gettysburg PA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good food, service lacking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

We had the pasta and it was great. Salads good and fresh. Only three tables occupied at the time we were there, but we saw the server only to take the order and bring the food. Then she vanished. No refills on our drinks, had to go to the counter to pay since there were no staff around to get our check. Other customers seemed to be looking around for a server too. Get your service figured out and this will be a great place.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best pizza I've had in a really long time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

So, I love pizza. You probably love pizza too, right? Well, hold on to your seat, because this pizza is freakin' awesome. I'll be honest; at first I was kinda freaked out by the atmosphere. I'm like, we're eating here? You've got to be kidding me. English, decorations, and pretty much the rest of the modern world is a little hard to come by in this joint. But we ordered a large pizza, and the rest is history!

They have super-fresh cheese, and JUST the right amount of sauce. It's not slathered in sauce, but it isn't dried cardboard either. As someone who makes their own homemade pizzas, this ratio is one of the most challenging things about great pizza! If you aren't familiar with NYC style pizza, it's basically a semi-chewy semi-crispy thin-esque style crust, with minimal edge exposure. Personally, I'm not a big fan of other pizza style that involve a giant loaf of bread with some toppings. If you are of similar crust-orientation to myself, you will be delighted too.

We will definitely, definitely be back! Oh, and one word of caution: if you aren't a fan of a little grease or are otherwise turned off by it, this is not the pizza for you. But if a little grease doesn't freak you out, rest assured, this is not disgusting grease, but rather it's just like juices from the cheese, pepperoni, etc.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, PA
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Decent Pizza at a good price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Stopped here after the Diorama as we were rather hungry from out Horseback tour at Artillery Ridge Campground. The pizza was pretty good and the price for three of us was $18.00 minus the tip. The waitress kept our drinks full which was appreciated on a hot summer day.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gettysburg
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great NY Style pizza in the Burough .”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Had a suprisingly great pizza in what was one of my favorite pizzerias two owers ago. The thin crusted pizza was expectional and the other menu items look outstanding, A full Italian menu with unlimited choices. If the pasta items are as good as the Pizza we'll be back over and over again.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed King's New York Pizza also viewed

 

Been to King's New York Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King's New York Pizza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.