We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost there! Only little things between 4 stars & 5.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Federal Pointe Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Federal Pointe Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member to your Saves list
Federal Pointe Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
3.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   75 Springs Avenue, Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Gettysburg
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Almost there! Only little things between 4 stars & 5.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Very good location at one end of the business district so restaurants & shops all walkable.
The restoration of this historic building was well done and recent (has only been a hotel for 13 months, the evening desk clerk informed us, having previously been a school since the 1800s.)
Beautiful shower, high ceilings, Keurig in the room for coffee, as other reviewers mention. Desk clerk showing us to the room was a nice touch. A couple of little things missing to make it perfect like towel bars by the sink and outlets to charge my phone on the nightstand-not biggies, but the little things needed to move from 4 to 5 stars.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    39
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
48
82
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton Ontario Canada
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Our family stayed here for 4 nights in late August. The room was beautiful very spacious. Also our room had an extra sitting room which was perfect for reading or watching TV. The old school is nicely restored and the walls in both the rooms and hallways have prints of paintings depicting the battle of Gettysburg and the Civil War. We found the Federal Pointe to be an excellent place to stay while in Gettysburg only about a short 3 minute walk into Lincoln Square.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loudon, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

My husband and I stooped in without reservations and were treated royally on a Tuesday. Nick was the amazingly efficient, informative and friendly desk clerk actually showed us several rooms to choose from and gave us a tour of the recently renovated School building turned into lavish Inn. Yes, I found the Principal's office too! Top class with a Keuric Coffee marked in the room. Very comfortable beds, with historic painting of the Battle of Gettysburg throughout the Inn. I highly recommend this establishment. They will be opening bar with food on the premises shortly but the restaurants are in walking distance,

Room Tip: All rooms are great. It depends on your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

What a lovely hotel! We stayed only one night, but in that short time were suitably impressed. The renovations to this old nineteenth century school have been done with great attention to detail. The charming architectural elements have been preserved, while keeping an eye on style and comfort. Our room was spacious, owing in part to the high ceilings, and very attractively decorated. The queen beds were especially comfortable. The bathroom, also fitted with high ceilings, boasted gleaming granite and a handsome single sink console. The only drawback in my mind was the lighting, and the absence of an additional mirror for shaving and makeup.

Although no breakfast is served, coffee is available in the morning, as well as tea and scones in the afternoon. For those who want a fuller breakfast, Dunlap's Restaurant is right next door. A small "pub" is about to open in the basement of the hotel, where there is also a meeting room and a fitness center, which includes three machines.

The hotel is well located between the center of town, Gettysburg College and the battlefield. The center of Gettysburg can get very noisy and cramped, so we welcomed being situated just a few blocks away, where it was quiet and where there was ample on-site parking. It's a particularly good location for families visiting the Gettysburg College campus.

Federal Pointe Inn is a new hotel, and I understand, reading some of the other reviews, that there may still be some kinks that need to be ironed out. But for us, it was a most enjoyable stay, and we would gladly return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

My experience completely aligns with reviewer LoriL3020. Our room was very clean and there was not one bug in sight as mentioned by another reviewer. I am very particular and obsessive about cleanliness and I didn't find one issue. My only suggestion is the bathroom could use better lighting over the mirror.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Federal_Pointe, Owner at Federal Pointe Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for expressing the truth about our award winning historic hotel and confirming the true experience guests who have stayed at the Federal Pointe. As of today, Federal Pointe Inn is rated number 2 in the United States of all Choice Hotels International Ascend Collection Hotel properties. This rating is based on surveys of our guest over the last year. We are proud of our hotel and appreciate all the guest that made our hotel #2 in the US!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We booked this room because it was in town at an acceptable price with a bonus sitting area. There are only a few hotels in the center city area. Our room was ready at the time promised and the reception lady walked us up to the room telling the history of the hotel which was once a school. Very charming - and so was the room! We were surprised when we opened the door. The room was a perfect blend of old style (12' ceilings and large windows etc.) with new (bedding, tvs, and an updated and modern, spacious bathroom) that really set the mood for a Gettysburg stay. Very pretty. The tall ceilings made the room seem larger. Our room was clean and bed and bedding were comfortable. We checked for bed bugs, as per normal. They had a big mini-fridge as well as tvs in both the sleeping area and sitting area. Parking was free. It was a few blocks walk to many restaurants and other places in town. We ate dinner at the Italian restaurant 1 1/2 blocks towards town on the left. It was a good experience for our family. Some of the touristy locations are further south from the hotel so bring walking shoes. No breakfast at the hotel but there is a restaurant next door. We choose to bring our own breakfast which was fine with us because we wanted a good start at the Military Park. We had a room on the 3rd floor and didn't hear a thing during our stay save a few motorcycles in the night which was probably heard all over town. We drove in that day, stayed the night and left late the next afternoon. We wished we'd stayed two nights to get a full Gettysburg experience and overall we were glad we chose this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a 3rd floor room. The floors are creaky.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

This is a beautiful renovation of the Meade School in Gettysburg. 3 blocks from center square and close to good restaurants. It is really nice to be close yet far enough away. It is very quiet at night promoting a good rest. Bathrooms are very nicely done with tile and marble.

Room Tip: Rooms on side of building with lobby allow sleep in AM as this is west side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Federal Pointe Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Federal Pointe Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Address: 75 Springs Avenue, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Federal Pointe Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Federal Pointe Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Federal Pointe Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.